Find current news articles

Use ProQuest Central or one of the databases in this box (Global / U.S. Newsstream or SIRS Issues Researcher) to search for articles about events from the last 7-10 days. After you run a search on a topic or location, use the publication date limiter to select the appropriate date range.

Alternatively, you can often change your search results to display by "Most Recent" which may also work for you!

Trying to use CQ Researcher for current articles?

This database only publishes reports weekly. Please use a different database!

Why use library databases to find current news?

The biggest advantage to using library sources is that they are free! Please do not pay for articles. We're also ad-free and you can get a citation for your article!

The biggest disadvantage to using the library for current news is that our content is updated daily (so any breaking news will be better located on the Internet). We often lose images that are published with news articles so sometimes the context is missing too.

You can always search the Internet for articles- if you hit a "pay wall," look for the articles in library databases.

If you're struggling to find sources to complete a project, check out these tips:

1. Change the terms you're using to search with ("elderly" vs. "senior citizens" may yield different results!)
2. Change where you're looking. (In a library database? Jump out to an Internet search engine and run some searches to find language and possible sources. Already using Google or another search engine? Try a library database.)
3. Ask for help! Contact a librarian for ideas after 15 minutes or so of trying on your own- ideally before you hit a wall of frustration!

There are many ways to evaluate sources! Sometimes an easy-to-remember acronym is a good place to start. CRAAP is a popular one, but we've listed a few others to explore!

No matter which method you use, always remember that context matters.

Some of our top tips for evaluating source credibility are:

• Read laterally (look for other coverage/information on the same topic/event)
• Explore your sources (what have others said about them? what credentials do the authors have? etc.)
• Look for primary sources (where did the information first get reported?)

These resources are great for getting background information, focusing your research, and finding viewpoints!

It's not always easy to find more than two viewpoints of an issue. Here are a few ideas to try:

• Explore "who should pay" (government? individuals? taxpayers? private corporations? etc.) (i.e. who should fund K-12 education?)

• Consider "should this be regulated?" or "who should be regulating this?" (i.e. social media, new technologies like generative AI)

• Ask "who should have access or control access to [blank]?" (i.e. banned books)

• Identify stakeholders (who does this issue matter to? who "wins" or "loses"?) and see if there is common ground among each group of stakeholders (i.e. do doctors seem to support one viewpoint of the issue and parents another?)

• Think about traditional pro/con viewpoints in terms of the reasoning behind them (i.e. some may oppose an inland port because it will cost taxpayers too much money; others may oppose it because of environmental issues, etc.). It might look like: Yes because A, Yes because B, No because C, No because D, etc.

Most of these considerations require consuming a fair amount of information about your issue before you are able to distinguish between the various viewpoints. If you're struggling, reach out to a librarian or your course instructor for assistance!