LibGuides: Literature: ENGL 1700

Where to Find Archival Photos

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.

Digital Public Library of America
Over 30 million images and more covering U.S. History.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
American history, 1400-present, documented by the Library of Congress. Millions of items including images, prints, photographs, etc. While international in scope, the collections are particularly strong in materials documenting the history of the United States and the lives, interests, and achievements of the American people.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Europeana Collections
A digital library of newspapers, manuscripts and more from libraries, museums, and archives found all over Europe.
The Met Collection
Browse some of The Met's most recognizable and eye-catching objects covering 5,000 years of history. Or search across more than 375,000 hi-res images of public-domain works from the collection.
Umbra Search
This site features African American History primary resources by bringing together hundreds of thousands of digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
Flickr Commons
Collection of images for use. Can be filtered to "no known restrictions."
19th Century Photography Collections
This is a list of digital photography collections focused on 19th Century photography in the United States, compiled by the National Archives.
Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in Americas: A Visual Record
These images have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection currently has over 1,200 images. The website is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.

Finding Archival Images: Video Tutorials

Tips for Regional Research

If you are researching a certain city, state, or region, look for major digital collections created by that city or state.

Try web searches for a city or state digital library, such as "Chicago digital library" or "Louisiana digital library."
Search for the state library and archives commission (for instance, "New York State Library and Archives") to look for major state-wide digitization initiatives.

Libraries

Literature

Where to Find Archival Photos

Finding Archival Images: Video Tutorials

Tips for Regional Research