LibGuides: Political Science: International Politics

Newspapers from Around the World

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contains recent and archival news content from the 1980s to present. Resources from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Australia are included.

United Nations

U.N. Peacekeeping Operations
Learn where the U.N. has peacekeeping operations
Effectiveness of Peacekeeping Operations
Read this Analysis/Summary of UN Peacekeeping Operations from the Oxford Research Encyclopedias
U.N. Peacekeeping Funding
Learn where the funding comes from
United Nations and Conflict Resolution
This short encyclopedia entry provides an overview of the U.N. and conflict resolution/ peacekeeping efforts.
1964 Report "United Nations Peacekeeping" from CQ Researcher
To see how U.N. Peacekeeping was discussed in 1964, take a look at this report! You'll also find reports like "Reforming the U.N." from 2016 to see how things have evolved over the years.

How a librarian would approach this assignment:

1. Identify your U.N. Peacekeeping Operation location (first link)

2. Read through the U.N. information on your operation (fact sheets, "UN documents" on the bottom of each Operation page)

3. Read the "Effectiveness of Peacekeeping Operations" article for context

4. Search for additional sources on the effectiveness of your operation by searching for the name of it in OneSearch; also try SIRS Researcher and perhaps CQ Researcher (all linked below)

5. Draft it out and look for additional sources if needed

SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
Accesses thousands of newspaper and magazine articles. Search your topic or pick one of their Leading Issues with PRO / CON information and Viewpoint articles. Extras include Educator's Resources.. SIRS (Social Issues Resources Series)
ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search some of the Library's databases at the same time, mainly a handful of EBSCO databases.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This database creates an in depth report each week for a different issue in the news. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science and technology. Every report covers different sides of the issue and contains charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, and a list of resources.

U.S. and Afghanistan

Timeline from the Council on Foreign Relations
Detailed timeline highlighting important events of the US in Afghanistan
BBC's Timeline "Afghanistan Profile"
Another helpful timeline highlighting important events of the history of Afghanistan, including US involvement
BBC History: "The War in Afghanistan" (Archived page)
An archived page from the BBC about the war in Afghanistan.
BBC "Why is there a war in Afghanistan? The short, medium and long story"
An article reviewing the war in Afghanistan.

U.S. and North Korea

Timeline of US-North Korean Relations
Detailed chronology from Frontline (PBS).
US-NK Nuclear/Missile Diplomacy Chronology
From the Arms Control Association
Brookings Institution- North Korea
Reports, blog posts, and more about North Korea and the U.S.
38 North
Website devoted to wide array of topics related to North Korea: "Informed analysis of events in and around North Korea" from The Stimson Center.

Libraries

Political Science

Newspapers from Around the World

United Nations

U.S. and Afghanistan

U.S. and North Korea