LibGuides: Political Science: US Government and Politics

Explore Amendments 11-27

National Archives
Read the amendments online.
Read original documents
The National Archives provides high resolution downloads of the Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, Amendments 11-27, and the U.S. Constitution. Talk about a primary source!
Constitution Annotated
Annotations and interpretations of the Constitution, including all amendments, from the U.S. Congress.
Background on amendments
A summary of the political background for each amendment.
Additional political background on amendments
This source groups amendment by theme (Civil War Reconstruction, Voting Rights and Restrictions, etc.).

Assignment instructions for Essay 2 (in many POLS 1700 courses):

*Look at amendments XI through XXVII of the U.S. Constitution. Choose ONE amendment. Briefly describe the issue or issues related to the amendment. Also, discuss the politics during its course to ratification. Why was the amendment important and how, in your view, did it impact American history?*

Research Tips for Interest Groups and Lobbying

Looking for information on interest groups? Lobbying? These sources and ideas can help you get started.

Interest Groups Research Starter
Get an overview of issues surrounding interest groups. Includes some well-known interest groups.
Vote Smart- List of Interest Groups
Project Vote Smart reports on performance evaluations from all special interest groups (SIGs) who provide them, regardless of issue or bias. [from their website]

Have an interest group in mind?

Check out their website for About Us, Policy Statements, Press Releases
Search OneSearch or ProQuest Newsstand (Complete) -links below- for the interest group's name, add legislat* to narrow down to involvement with legislation (or try lobby*)

Additional Resources

You can look for additional context, interpretations of, and current events surrounding interest groups, lobbying and amendments in the following library resources:

ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search most of the Library's databases at the same time. It includes over 20 databases from various vendors and brings up many e-books as well.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Has coverage of over 150 U.S. and international newspapers. Ninety days of FULL-TEXT articles to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal are included. Use this source to find articles in the Salt Lake Tribune. Formerly called ProQuest Newsstand (Complete).

Libraries

Political Science

Explore Amendments 11-27

Research Tips for Interest Groups and Lobbying

Additional Resources