LibGuides: Ethnic Studies: Native American Culture

Welcome

This information should help students researching topics in the Native American Culture course.

In Fall semester 2022, students in ETHS 2440: Native American Culture must complete a term paper that requires "at least ten (10) sources with a minimum of five (5) of those from peer-reviewed academic journals. Other sources may come from newspapers (especially Native American newspapers), films, broadcast media, recorded interviews of individual or group experiences, and other high-quality media." (Assignment instructions, S. May). The resources on this guide should help you locate these source types! Contact Librarian Jamie if you need assistance.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Mostly FULL-TEXT collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Titles include: The Navajo-Hopi Observer, Wind River News, Journal of Blacks in Higher Education, Jewish Exponent, Journal of Asian American Studies, Latino Studies, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocIndex contains full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search most of the Library's databases at the same time. It includes over 20 databases from various vendors and brings up many e-books as well.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF (Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. Use "Browse" options (Cultures, Locations, Documents) or Advanced Search.

Need help with a topic? Here are the assignment instructions for Fall, 2022 from Sarah May's class:

The topic should be identified as fitting in at least one of the following:

Social policy
Social movements
Cultural practices, beliefs, philosophies, and/or methodologies
Contemporary social problems or issues
Historical events
Federal Indian Law or other legal and jurisdictional matters

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This database creates an in depth report each week for a different issue in the news. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science and technology. Every report covers different sides of the issue and contains charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, and a list of resources.

Native American Rights (CQ Researcher Report)
This report from CQ Researcher was written in 2021 and is linked as an example of what exists in CQ Researcher. It focuses on the question "Should tribes have more sovereignty over their lands?" Available with SLCC login.

Additional Research Databases

These databases are a little more focused on specific topics or areas of study. Depending on your topic, you may need something not listed here! Ask a librarian for help.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Part of our EBSCO subscription. Some FULL-TEXT; contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries from literature in psychology and related disciplines. Indexes material from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 30 languages and dating back to the 1800's.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
FULL-TEXT access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

Scholarly, Popular, Trade/Professional? What's in a name?

Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade/professional publications.

	Scholarly Journals	Popular Journals	Trade/Professional Publications
Purpose	Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.	Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.	Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
Authors	Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.	Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.	Articles are usually written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
Audience	Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.	Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.	Intended for practitioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.

Website for Native American Culture research

Native American Research Guide from the Library of Congress
This page provides access to related research guides, digital collections from other areas of the Library of Congress, external websites, and subscription databases for researching indigenous and Native peoples in North America. [From the website]
Native American Studies Research Guide (MSU Libraries)
A detailed research guide from Michigan State University librarians; SLCC does not have access to many of the databases listed.

Newspaper resources

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, etc. devoted to the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. (from the vendor)
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Has coverage of over 150 U.S. and international newspapers. Ninety days of FULL-TEXT articles to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal are included. Use this source to find articles in the Salt Lake Tribune. Formerly called ProQuest Newsstand (Complete).

International New York Times
Current Issue - 1992

Libraries

Ethnic Studies

Welcome

Additional Research Databases

Scholarly, Popular, Trade/Professional? What's in a name?

Website for Native American Culture research

Newspaper resources