LibGuides: Ethnic Studies: Research in Spanish

Databases for Research in Spanish

Non-Library databases for scholarly/academic articles in Spanish (start in CLASCO!):

CLACSO (El Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales)
El Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO) es una institución internacional no-gubernamental con status asociativo en la UNESCO, creada en 1967. Actualmente, reúne 937 centros de investigación y posgrado en el campo de las ciencias sociales y las humanidades en 56 países de América Latina, el Caribe y otros continentes.
more...less...
The Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO) is an international non-governmental organization with associate status at UNESCO, established in 1967. It currently brings together 937 research and graduate centers in the field of social sciences and humanities across 56 countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other continents.
Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de CLACSO
Search many Spanish language databases at one time: Redalyc, Scielo, LatIndex, RevistALAS, DOAJ, Dialnet, and CLASE. Sponsored by el Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
List of peer-reviewed and other journals that are freely available on the Web.
REDALYC
Maintained by the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), this open access online portal includes peer-reviewed and journal articles on the social sciences and humanities from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal.
CLASE
CLASE es una base de datos bibliográfica creada en 1975 en la Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). Ofrece alrededor de 350 mil registros bibliográficos de artículos, ensayos, reseñas de libro, revisiones bibliográficas, notas breves, editoriales, biografías, entrevistas, estadísticas y otros documentos publicados en cerca de 1 500 revistas de América Latina y el Caribe, especializadas en ciencias sociales y humanidades.

Library-licensed content (great for scholarly sources, newspaper articles, etc.)- turn on Language filter:

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
(Library database) Search many of the Library's databases at the same time. It includes over 20 databases on subjects from business to psychology to biology and more. Use "Preferences" option to search in Spanish.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.

Research Tips

Top tips:

Search databases in Spanish (look for "Languages" or "Preferences" in most library databases)
Be flexible with your search terms (cuisine vs. food vs. dishes)
Search the internet for help with search terms, events, important people, etc.
Remember not all sources live in library databases (sometimes government websites, professional organizations, blogs, research center websites, social media, and more might be useful to you)
- - Look for local newspapers by searching your country name and newspapers (i.e. Paraguay newspapers)
  - Look for universities that may be doing research on your topic
  - Find Government websites (i.e. Paraguay government website)
  - Look for organizations (i.e. Paraguay teachers organizations)
Crowdsource ideas from classmates, friends, family, etc.
Reach out early if you get stuck! Librarians and your instructor are here to help.

March 23, 2021 Presentation
Slides from the Spring 2021 library presentation to SPN 2040.

Libraries

Ethnic Studies

Instruction and Liaison Librarian

Databases for Research in Spanish

Non-Library databases for scholarly/academic articles in Spanish (start in CLASCO!):

Library-licensed content (great for scholarly sources, newspaper articles, etc.)- turn on Language filter:

Research Tips