LibGuides: Ethnic Studies: Home

Most Ethnic Studies research is interdisciplinary. Useful research may be found in the fields of sociology, psychology, education, medicine, social work, political science, economics, and so on.

This guide is a starting point for research- librarians are standing by to help as needed!

Best Bet Databases

Use a multidisciplinary database (lots of results!).

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.
ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search most of the Library's databases at the same time. It includes over 20 databases from various vendors and brings up many e-books as well.

Google Scholar
Turn on "Find It @ SLCC" to view SLCC holdings from this free, multidisciplinary database.

Search more focused databases using the databases listed below.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Mostly FULL-TEXT collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Titles include: The Navajo-Hopi Observer, Wind River News, Journal of Blacks in Higher Education, Jewish Exponent, Journal of Asian American Studies, Latino Studies, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocIndex contains full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, etc. devoted to the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. (from the vendor)
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Search Tips

Search using the most important aspects of your research topic or question. Examples:

African American home ownership (not "Why does home ownership present such a challenge for African Americans?")
medical care Mexican American (not "What causes disparities in medical care for Mexican Americans?")
Native American discrimination public school (not "Are Native Americans subject to discrimination in public schools?")

Limit search results to the kind of information most useful to you. Examples:

Does publication date matter? Is your topic very recent? Do you need to present a historical overview of the issues you're researching?
Does publication type matter? Does your instructor require "scholarly" sources? Do you need coverage of a current event from a newspaper? Are you looking for articles that present a viewpoint rather than remaining more neutral?

Do not rely on your first search or the first few results.

Be flexible with different terms representing the same big ideas from your questions
- teenagers, adolescents, adolescence, teens...
- health insurance, Obamacare, single payer, medical debt...
- white supremacy, whyte supremacy...
Look for "subjects" in your search results for additional useful terms and an idea of the "big ideas" in that source

Libraries

Ethnic Studies

Instruction and Liaison Librarian

Class Activity Databases September 2024

Best Bet Databases

Search Tips

Search using the most important aspects of your research topic or question. Examples:

Limit search results to the kind of information most useful to you. Examples:

Do not rely on your first search or the first few results.

Email yourself the best results!