It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.
A FULL-TEXT collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, etc. devoted to the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. (from the vendor)
FULL-TEXT Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Includes over 500 peer-reviewed titles, plus almost 50 other titles.
This database creates an in depth report each week for a different issue in the news. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science and technology. Every report covers different sides of the issue and contains charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, and a list of resources.
Search using the most important aspects of your research topic or question. Examples:
African American home ownership (not "Why does home ownership present such a challenge for African Americans?")
medical care Mexican American (not "What causes disparities in medical care for Mexican Americans?")
Native American discrimination public school (not "Are Native Americans subject to discrimination in public schools?")
Limit search results to the kind of information most useful to you. Examples:
Does publication date matter? Is your topic very recent? Do you need to present a historical overview of the issues you're researching?
Does publication type matter? Does your instructor require "scholarly" sources? Do you need coverage of a current event from a newspaper? Are you looking for articles that present a viewpoint rather than remaining more neutral?
Do not rely on your first search or the first few results.
Be flexible with different terms representing the same big ideas from your questions
teenagers, adolescents, adolescence, teens...
health insurance, Obamacare, single payer, medical debt...
white supremacy, whyte supremacy...
Look for "subjects" in your search results for additional useful terms and an idea of the "big ideas" in that source
Email yourself the best results!
Scholarly, Popular, Trade/Professional? What's in a name?
Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade/professional publications.
Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.
Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.
Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.
Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.
Articles are usually written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.
Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.
Intended for practitioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.