LibGuides: Biology: BIOL 2060: Images / Video

Microbiology: Images / Video

Using pictures, videos, and other multimedia can add to your research. Interactive media can be a fun way to help you practice lab skills or teach microbiology concepts to others. Remember to correctly cite images and other media when using them in a project. To find these types of resources, consider checking the following sources and databases:

Images: Public Health Image Library, Creative Commons, Wikimedia Commons, and more
Videos: Films on Demand, AVON, UCSD-TV Science
Interactive Media: mobile game apps, virtual microbiology labs, and more

More information and links are available below.

Images

Remember to check permissions before you use images in your assignments and outside-of-class work.

Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Search the CDC's pictures, which includes illustrations and photos. You may use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.
Openverse Search
Search for images to modify or to use as-is in this updated Creative Commons search engine.
Wikimedia Commons
Search a collection of freely usable media files, including images, to which anyone can contribute.
Pixabay
Download royalty-free photos, which are released under a license allowing for free use and modification but does not require attribution.
Noun Project
Get free icons for presentations and more- options to pay for more options. Read the licensing terms!

Video

Films On Demand Collection This link opens in a new window
A large collection of streaming video with academic, vocational and life-skills content. Topics include: Biology, Environmental Science, Health, and many more.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
AVON contains thousands of award-winning films covering a wide range of subjects, including biology. AVON includes video on sterile and aseptic techniques.

Videos on both Films on Demand and AVON have English captions and transcripts available.

UCSD-TV Science
The University of California San Diego Television's page for all science videos, series, and podcasts. Browse by science subjects to find biology-specific films. Videos should have closed captions and transcripts included.

You may also explore news websites, social media posts, YouTube, TedTalks, and other online video repositories. The Library's DVD collection may also contain relevant films. To find these, please contact the Library.

Interactive Media

Hep B-Ware
Freely download Drexel University's Hep B-Ware for Android or iOS and be introduced to the world of infectious disease. Hep B-Ware is a 7-level game in which players take the role of the hepatitis B virus (HBV) navigating the bloodstream in search of a liver cell to infect.

Additional infectious disease introductory games from Drexel University include Malaria Invasion and CD4 Hunter (human immunodeficiency virus type 1). Both are also available for Android and iOS.

The Virtual Edge
From the University of Wyoming, these virtual labs facilitate the "teaching and learning of microbiology. It is open courseware and free for all educational use."
LabXchange
Find simulations, case studies, videos, interactive resources, and more on the biological sciences for free. Includes resources on aseptic techniques. From Harvard.

Please note that these interactive media resources may not be fully accessible.

Libraries

Biology

Microbiology: Images / Video

Images

Video

Interactive Media