It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use general information sources to learn about basic microbiology concepts, gather facts about bacteria, pathogens, or diseases, and set a solid foundation for performing more in-depth research. For general information, consider checking the following types of sources:
Encyclopedias and general databases
More information and links are available below.
A note on Wikipedia: Wikipedia can be a good place to start when learning about a new topic or concept. However, due to its crowd-sourced nature, it should never be the only source you consult, and you should not cite it in your references. Instead, use Wikipedia's "References" section to link to additional sources.
STAT!Ref contains full-text, searchable ebooks on healthcare related topics. Stedman's Medical Dictionary may be particularly useful for microbiology students, as well as Conditions A-Z (by the American Academy of Family Physicians) and the Merck Manual.
Nursing Reference Center Plus provides access to topics specifically designed for nurses. For general information on bacteria, diseases, and other microbiology general concepts, look for books, quick lessons, and evidence-based care sheets. This can also be a useful resource for finding information on aseptic techniques.
OneSearch searches most of the Library's databases simultaneously and provides access to eBooks, journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. It also has many Research Starters that will appear at the top of your search results. If there is a Research Starter available for your topic, it is an excellent way to gather general information. *Note: Not all topics will have a Research Starter.
From the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE Plus covers over 500 diseases and conditions. It includes a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.