LibGuides: Biology: Library Databases

Welcome to the Biology subject guide.

This guide can help you find resources on Biotechnology topics. Use the tabs to explore recommended resources from the Library and the open web.

Databases

The Library's online databases provide many journal articles, e-books, and other sources on Biology topics. Use the links below to get started finding resources from them.

Off Campus Access

Current students, faculty, and staff can access all electronic library resources off campus. When prompted, enter your MySLCC username and password.

Biology Databases

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Science Direct contains scholarly articles on a variety of topics including biology, physical science and engineering, social sciences, and health sciences.

Need help? Use this guide to get started:

Introduction to Using Science Direct
Instructions on accessing and searching Science Direct. Accessible web-based guide on Google Docs.

Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Science Collection. Use ProQuest's Science & Technology collection to search 15 STEM databases for a variety of source types, including academic journal articles. Covered topics include: biology, biotechnology, computer science, engineering, environmental science, physics, and more.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Examine+ This link opens in a new window
Examine is the largest database of nutrition and supplement research on the internet. It analyzes and summarizes the latest scientific research. Create a free account using your SLCC email address to enjoy access to all Examine+ content.
All the World's Primates This link opens in a new window
A database of primates with contributions from more than 300 scientists. The database includes entries for each species and subspecies of primate with over 3000 photographs and other materials.

Access Science (AAAS)

Read news and research articles directly on AAAS Science's website. If you are off campus, you may be prompted to authenticate with your MySLCC username and password. Please note the Library's access is only for the primary journal Science.

Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.
Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window
Science provides cutting-edge research, incisive scientific commentary, and insights on what’s important to the scientific world. The SLCC Library's access only includes their primary journal, Science.
ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search many of the Library's databases at the same time. SLCC Library Services changed their primary vendor in July 2024, which impacts OneSearch. The search interface is subject to change.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
FULL-TEXT access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.

Search for Journals by Title

EBSCO Publication Finder (JOURNALS) This link opens in a new window
Search for publications by title withing many of the Library's databases. You may also search or browse this tool by subject area.

Research Tip:

Try selecting "Biology" in the "Browse by Discipline" box to see the hundreds of journals dedicated to this topic.

Want to access additional databases?

Pro Tip: You may need database coverage beyond what the Library has available. If so, with the UALC (Utah Academic Library Consortium) agreement, you can use other university or college libraries in the state. To do so, show your ID card and bring proof you are a current student at SLCC. Login with a guest pass and use their databases there. Check with each partner institution for their specific requirements.

Utah Academic Library Consortium (UALC) Partners

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy to chat about your project, research, or questions.

Libraries

Biology

Subject Guide

BIOL 1010 Library Workshop