LibGuides: Biology: BIOL 1030 Resources

Welcome to the BIOL 1030 section of the Biology research guide!

This page has been developed specifically for Intro to Plant Biology. It will direct you to a variety of resources that may assist you with your research-based assignments and provide research tips.

Recommended Databases and Websites

Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Science Collection. Use ProQuest's Science & Technology collection to search 15 STEM databases for a variety of source types, including academic journal articles. Covered topics include: biology, biotechnology, computer science, engineering, environmental science, physics, and more.

USU Extension: Agriculture & Natural Resources
The Utah State University Extension provides research-based programs and resources on topics like plant health, agronomy, sustainability, and wetlands.
USU Extension: Gardening
The Utah State University Extension provides research-based programs and resources on topics like water-efficient landscaping, healthy soil, weeds, and more.

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Science Direct contains scholarly articles on a variety of topics including physical science and engineering, social sciences, and health sciences.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.

Books from the Library

Braiding Sweetgrass : Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants

By Robin Wall Kimmerer, Access Online

Environmental Soil Chemistry

By Donald Sparks, Borrow from the Redwood Library

The Kingdom of Fungi

By Jens Henrik Petersen, Access Online

APA Citation Resources

How can I cite my sources properly?
Visit the STEM Library Resource guide to learn more about why citations are important and how to create them.
APA Style's "References" page
From the American Psychological Association, view information on basic principles and sample citations for various source types.
SLCC Student Writing & Reading Center
The Student Writing & Reading Center is a free resource available to all SLCC students. In-person or online sessions with tutors can assist with understanding assignments, revising writing, comprehending grammar, becoming a better reader, and more.

Libraries

Biology

Subject Guide