LibGuides: Literature: Literary Criticism

Finding Literary Criticism

At SLCC, your best bet for locating most literary criticism is to use the main search box on the library website (called OneSearch). There's a OneSearch box on this page for your convenience.

Search tips:

Search by title of the work (i.e. "Doll's House," "Their Eyes Were Watching God," etc.)
Search by title and author (i.e. "Doll's House" Ibsen)
Search by author (i.e. Ibsen, Zora Neale Hurston, etc.)
Search any of the above and add the word "criticism" (i.e. "Doll's House" criticism, Zora Neale Hurston criticism, etc.)
Limit to publication types as necessary (i.e. Academic Journals is a popular choice for locating literary criticism)

If you get stuck, ask a librarian for help!

Call them at 801-957-4610
Text them at 801-770-0996
Or chat with them online

Databases for Literary Criticism

Start here first:

ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search most of the Library's databases at the same time (including Academic Search Premier and JSTOR). It includes over 20 databases from various vendors and brings up many e-books as well.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
TRIAL! Links to sources in this database will expire on June 30, 2024 as we transition to the non-trial version of this resource.
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of the most utilized subjects and topics. The database includes thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.

Try here next (or if the results are too unmanageable in OneSearch or Reseach Library):

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse contains full-text articles and journals related to the humanities and social sciences.

Google Scholar
Not all results available as full text through SLCC Libraries. Use our Interlibrary Loan service to request sources as needed. Turn on "Find at SLCC" in Google Scholar Settings!

Libraries

Literature

Finding Literary Criticism

Search tips:

Databases for Literary Criticism

Start here first:

Try here next (or if the results are too unmanageable in OneSearch or Reseach Library):

OneSearch