Psychology

• Consider creating a concept map
• Identify your key concepts
• Brainstorm related terms

Stuck on writing a research question? Try to answer some of the following questions, which may give you a stronger focus or direction.

Five W’s Research Topic Brainstorming

Who

• Is there a specific group of people who are affected by this topic? (Does the group of people most affected have a voice in policy, research, or other changes that could be made? Who does have the power?)
• Who might be invested in researching this topic? Are there other disciplines or majors that would also be interested in this topic/question (political science, criminal justice, psychology, etc.)?

What

• Are you familiar with the basic concepts and background of your topic/question?
• Are there different positions or perspectives on this topic? What proof do the different sides offer?

When

• How long has this been an issue/ problem/ concern/ occurrence?
• When will information need to be published to be of value to your topic/question? When has it been studied in the past?

Where

• Is there a specific geography or location that applies to this topic/question?
• Where can you look (Google, library sources, professional organizations, local government or groups, etc.) for more information?

Why

• What makes this topic/question worth exploring? What are the implications of finding an explanation/answer/ solution?
• Why are you personally interested in this topic/question?
• Why have others researched this topic/question?

How

• How do you know what you already know about the topic? Personal experience, books, classes, magazines, social media, etc.?
• How does this topic/question fit in to a larger context?
• How might others have researched this topic before?

• Gather topic and research ideas from anywhere- personal interests, news story, textbook, encyclopedia, Wikipedia, etc.
   
• Primary sources present original research ("Here's what I did and what I found!"). Secondary sources interpret existing research ("Here's what someone else did and what I think about it!"). Find primary sources when possible.
  
  
   
• Keywords represent the main concepts of your research question or topic, i.e. "What is the relationship between cooperative learning and student achievement?" the keywords would be cooperative learning student achievement. 
  Searching a database using keywords will pick up those words in all available areas of an item record (title, abstract, author name, publication name, sometimes full text, etc.). 
   
• Databases use subject headings to create consistent terminology. Item records are "tagged" with subject headings and using them may return more relevant results.
   
• Expand your search when you don't see enough results by removing a condition (removing a keyword, removing a publication date restriction) or using a more general keyword or subject heading ("zoom out" from exam score to student achievement).
   
• Limit or restrict your search when you see too many results or irrelevant results by adding a condition (adding a keyword or concept, adding a publication date or peer review restriction) or using a more specific keyword or subject heading ("zoom in" from student achievement to exam score).
   
• Full text and Scholarly (peer review) journals are very useful filters in OneSearch (the main search box on the library's website)
   
• Ask a Librarian if you get stuck!

In 4 minutes, learn how to:

• Search for sources in the new library tool Summon
• Search for physical items in the library catalog
• Get help from a librarian
• Find subject/discipline specific resources and research tips

This video has captions included. It is current as of August 20, 2025, the video's contents are also described below.

How to Search for Library Materials

This video explains how to use the Salt Lake Community College (SLCC) Libraries website and its Summon search tool to find research materials and connect with librarians.

Searching Summon

Summon is our newest library research tool and is one of the best webpages for finding trustworthy or scholarly sources for your research projects. To get started follow these steps.

1. Visit the SLCC Libraries homepage.

2. Locate the “Search Library Materials” section, which uses Summon—a tool that lets users search across many databases at once.

3. Enter a few important keywords from your research topic or area of interest in the search box, then select “Search”

   1. Recommendations for relevant databases may appear at the top of your search results page if Summon thinks you may want to use a specific database.

   2. You can use filters on the left side to narrow down results by publication date, source type, and language.

4. If you receive an overwhelming number of search results, add more specific keywords to refine your search.

Off-Campus Summon Access and Help Options

• If searching from off-campus, click the off-campus access message at the top-right to make sure you are logged into SLCC's Library Collections.

• Help is available through online chat, text, or email, accessible from the right side of the page.

• Links to research guides are available, covering many subjects and containing extra research help from librarians.

Viewing Source Details in Summon

• Use the “Quick Look” feature to read the abstract (summary) and see if full-text is available.

• For sources that do not open directly, try scrolling down to click the “DOI” link.

• Permanent link tool provides a direct, stable link to return to the source.

Citation and Email Tools in Summon

• The “Cite” tool (quotation marks icon) lets you choose a citation style and copy the citation for your project. Be sure to double-check citations for errors or updates.

• The envelope icon allows you to email yourself the source link or full reference with description.

Finding Physical Items (at our Libraries)

If you don't want to use Summon to find sources, you can also search our library catalog for books, DVDs, and other physical items.

• Use the “Find Physical Items” tab to search the library catalog.

• Results include item location, campus information, and options to place holds.

• Item details pages show exact location within the library for each physical resource.

Research Guides and Subject Librarians

Use our research guides to find support for specific fields (like psychology, geography, and exercise science) or use these guides to find support for specific projects. Each guide provides recommended resources and contact information for the corresponding subject librarian.

Library Hours and Locations

Our Library hours and campus locations appear on the right side of the homepage (or bottom, if using a phone or tablet).

Getting Additional Help

We encourage you to reach out to a librarian for advice on your research projects! You can contact us through chat, email, text, or even by just stopping into one of our libraries!