LibGuides: Library and Information Science: Websites

Gateway Resources

Universal Digital Library: Million Book Collection , hosted by Carnegie Mellon University
A collection of 1.5 million and growing digitized books. The National Science Foundation funds the digitization being performed by the Carnegie Mellon University and partners in China, Egypt and India. Books are currently available in 12 languages and dat
LibrarySpot.com: Encyclopedias, maps, online libraries, quotations, dictionaries...
This is a portal to Libraries, Books, Newspapers, Library Resources, Associations, Jobs, News, Schools, Children's Services, Tax Help, Calculators, Maps, People, Quotes, Colleges, Local Government, Encyclopedias,Test Prep, Homework Help, Facts, Trivia...
ICDL - International Children's Digital Library
A full text library of over 600 titles in more than 35 languages. ICDL is a good resource for finding international award-winning and multicultural books. The library is a project of the University of Maryland.
UK Web Archive - preserving UK websites
Here you can see how sites have changed over time, locate information no longer available on the live Web and observe the unfolding history of a spectrum of UK activities represented online. Sites that no longer exist elsewhere are found here and those yet to be archived can be saved for the future by nominating them.
more...less...
The Archive contains sites that reflect the rich diversity of lives and interests throughout the UK. Search is by Title of Website, Full Text or URL, or browse by Subject, Special Collection or Alphabetical List.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible. The Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations.

General Information Resources

Center for Research Libraries
A consortium of academic institutions that preserves and provides primary source material for researchers.
Directory of open access journals DOAJ
"Directory of Open Access Journals is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system."
more...less...
Open access journals are journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. From the BOAI definition [1] of "open access" we take the right of users to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles" as mandatory for a journal to be included in the directory.
Institute of Museum and Library Services
A collaborative effort between museums and libraries to promote learning in their communities.
Librarian's Internet Index (Trustworthy Sites)
Large directory of reviewed Web sites. Now part of Internet Public Library.
Library Research Service
Provides statistics, impact reports, and other data on libraries throughout the country.
LIS News
Library and Information Science current news.
OCLC Research
Provides research data and reports to help libraries improve and to enhance the user experience for patrons.
Virtual Reference at the Library of Congress
A great selection of reference websites.

Narrower Resources

ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom
American Library Association website for the Office for Intellectual Freedom provides materials and links with the goal of educating librarians and the general public about the nature and importance of intellectual freedom in libraries.
Cataloger's Reference Shelf
Resources for catalogers from the Library Corporation.
CoOL: Conservation Online
Full text library of conservation materials covering a wide spectrum of topics. Conservation is the storing, preservation, and renovation of library books and other items.
Copyright and Intellectual Properties Office
Created by Dr. Fritz Dolak and hosted by Ball State University Libraries. Also helpful to academics. Includes information about the TEACH Act. Has videos on copyright issues and also information about where to find royalty free materials for teaching and learning.
Copyright Clearance Center
Helps academics and others to obtain permission to use copyrighted materials. This site provides “downloadable guides for academic institutions on interlibrary loans, the TEACH Act, and the use of course-management systems and electronic reserve.”
Copyright Crash Course
University of Texas Libraries "crash course" provides overviews on copyright law as it applies to faculty in higher education. It includes content on Fair Use, the TEACH Act, seeking permissions, and more. Licensed CC BY-NC 4.0.
Copyright for Librarians
This is an online course co-released by the Berkman Center for Internet and Society at Harvard and eIFL.net. There are nine modules in the curriculum, covering everything from copyright scope to activism. It's meant to be used as either a self-guided course, or as a supplement to classroom instruction.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
List of peer-reviewed and other journals that are freely available on the Web.
Librarians Fight Rise of Precarious Work
CBC News (Toronto) article about Librarians working more than one part-time job to get started in the career (March '16).
Library 2.0 at Wikipedia
Overview of principles and concerns about using Library 2.0 (new interactive librarian methods). One part of it is to improve the Online Public Access Catalogs (OPACs).
LOEX
Library Orientation Exchange, founded in 1971 and updated ever since, is a clearinghouse for resources to use in Library education or orientations for students or patrons.
U.S. Copyright Office
Includes information about using other people’s work as well as how to apply for copyright for your own work.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Publications

D-Lib Magazine
Coverage through the Corporation for National Research Initiatives from 7/1996 to current.
Directory of open access journals
This directory gives full text access to around 90 library and information science titles, many of which the UNT Libraries do not own. Select the link for Social Sciences to access the library and information science journals.
Educational Media Reviews Online
EMRO contains more than 2000 reviews of educational videos, DVDs and CD-ROMs, written by librarians and teaching faculty from the United States and Canada. The University at Buffalo-SUNY sponsors the database, which focuses on adult media..

Professional Associations

MLA - Music Library Association

Libraries

Library and Information Science

Assistant Director for Instruction, Liaison, & Reference Services

Google Search