It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current students, faculty, and staff can access all electronic library resources off campus, it’s easy! When prompted, just enter your MySLCC username and password and you’re all set to explore our resources.
You also use your MySLCC credentials to login to the Library Catalog to access your library account to place holds or renew materials. If you have any questions, contact the Reference Desk at 801-957-4610.
Have a question?
Send a text message to:
A librarian will reply with an answer as soon as possible.
Scholarly, Popular, Trade/Professional? What's in a name?
Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade/professional publications.
Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.
Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.
Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.
Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.
Articles are usually written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.
Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.
Intended for practitioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
(Educational Resource Information Center) Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals. Some full text is available.
This database creates an in depth report each week for a different issue in the news. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science and technology. Every report covers different sides of the issue and contains charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, and a list of resources.
Includes FULL-TEXT for over 192 journals and monographs, and indexing for more than 690 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
FULL-TEXT access to over 40 encyclopedias covering African American Studies, Aging, Anthropology, Business & Management, Communication, Criminology, Economics, Education, Family, Gender, Geography, Health, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, etc.