LibGuides: Humanities: Philosophy and Religion

Philosophy and Religion Websites

Adherents.com
Covers statistics for over 4,200 religions.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
An encyclopedia that was published in 1998. Hartford Institute of Religion Research hosts the encyclopedia.
Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online (GAMEO)
Includes articles on Amish, Mennonite, Hutterite, and Brethren in Christ religions.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A collection of peer-reviewed information on topics relating to philosophers and philosophy in general.
Jewish Encyclopedia
Published between 1901 and 1906.
Official Website for The Nation of Islam
NOI.org provides history, leadership bios, official news and statements from the Nation of Islam.
Patheos
Compares different religions. Includes a calendar of religious holidays.
The Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
Provides information on U.S. religions.
Saints
Covers more than 4,000 saints.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An open access reference work that pertains to philosophy.
Vatican: The Holy See
Official Vatican web site. Several languages supported. News services, Church documents, information on the Popes and departments of the Roman Curia.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Libraries

Humanities

Philosophy and Religion Websites

Evaluating Websites