LibGuides: Humanities: Databases

Evidence in the Humanities

Evidence in the Humanities often looks different than evidence in other disciplines. The link below has a nice breakdown of what is considered evidence across a few different disciplines. As always, check in with your instructor if you need more help finding appropriate evidence for a project!

Examples of evidence used in Humanities research:

music lyrics
statistics
films
poetry
scholarly books or articles interpreting and analyzing evidence
field research

USC Research Guide: Types of Evidence

Article Databases

At SLCC, start with the databases JSTOR and Project Muse for Humanities related research.

ProQuest Central is also a great option! It pulls in sources from multiple disciplines at one time. Also consider using Google Scholar (turn on the SLCC Library Link in Settings for better full text access).

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse contains full-text articles and journals related to the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
FULL-TEXT access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
Philosopher's Index Full-Text This link opens in a new window
(Part of EBSCO) (1940 to present) No Full-Text. ABSTRACTS ONLY Covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It is considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, and indexes nearly 570 journals from 43 countries in a variety of languages.

Google Scholar
Turn on "Find it at SLCC" option if you use Google Scholar! (Settings --> Library Library Links)

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search severak collections of primary sources at one time. Gale Primary Sources searches across these products: Archives Unbound, The Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832–1978, and Women's Studies Archive.

Newspapers

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, etc. devoted to the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. (from the vendor)
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Has coverage of over 150 U.S. and international newspapers. Ninety days of FULL-TEXT articles to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal are included. Use this source to find articles in the Salt Lake Tribune. Formerly called ProQuest Newsstand (Complete).

Streaming Videos

Films On Demand Collection This link opens in a new window
A large collection of streaming video with academic, vocational and life-skills content. Topics include: Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Biology, Careers, Communication, Computers, Earth Science, Education, Environmental Science, Family Sciences, Geography, Guidance & Counseling, Health, History, Language Arts, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Technical Education, and World Languages. Be patient, the videos can take a few minutes to load
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
AVON contains thousands of award winning films covering a wide range of subjects including: anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Libraries

Humanities

Instruction and Liaison Librarian

Evidence in the Humanities

Article Databases

Newspapers

Streaming Videos