LibGuides: Humanities: History

History Websites (also see the other History guides)

AP European History Web Links & Primary Source Documents Page
1000s of links to great web sites and primary source documents. Just pick a topic and go to that page where you will find a large number of links that can be used for research and study.
Best of History Websites
Best of History Web Sites, created by EdTechTeacher Inc, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Digital Public Library of America
Provides primary sources sets from the digital collections of well know institutions in the United States.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is a collection of over 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. Part of Yale University's department of Manuscripts and Archives, the archive is located at Sterling Memorial Library.
Internet History Sourcebook Project
A site dedicated to presenting public domain information regarding the history of the world. It is divided into chronological order from Ancient, Medieval, and Modern History of Western Civilization. It also provides themes that represent Eastern Asian, Indian, and Women’s history.
Perseus Digital Library
This digital library consists mainly of Greco-Roman cultural resources. It provides primary and secondary sources as well as examining the art and architecture of these cultures. It also has a great deal of material revolving around the Renaissance and 19th century America.
The History Channel
The is the official web site for the History Channel. It allows you to search historic events by topic, general searches, and shows historic events that occurred this day in history. Online videos are also available on this site.
The New Library of Alexandria, The New Bibliotheca Alexandrina
The unique role of the Library of Alexandria, as that of a great Egyptian Library with international dimensions, will focus on four main aspects, that seek to recapture the spirit of the original ancient Library of Alexandria.

It aspires to be:

The world’s window on Egypt.
Egypt’s window on the world.
A leading institution of the digital age.
A center for learning, tolerance, dialogue and understanding.
Utah Museum of Natural History
The Utah Museum of Natural History is an active research institution that cares for over 1.2 million objects. The Museum provides unique natural history experiences to Utah residents and tourists through traveling and permanent exhibits, special events and other programs.

From the Digital Public Library of America

Roberts, E. C., “Utah Valley, 1850,” Digital Public Library of America.

Evaluating Websites

When doing research on the web it is really important to evaluate the source. There are many different methods of deciding if a source is credible, an easy evaluation phrase to remember is The CRAAP Test:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
reason the information exists

Libraries

Humanities

History Websites (also see the other History guides)

From the Digital Public Library of America

Evaluating Websites