LibGuides: Geography: Media and Interactive Tools

Use this page to find different media resources. It includes streaming videos and image repositories. Also find interactive online content designed for mapping and for learning more about geography.

Interactive Tools

ArcGIS Online
Create and share maps using ArcGIS Online. A 21-day free trial is available for students.
ArcGIS Living Atlas of the World
Search the Living Atlas for maps, apps, and more. Includes basemaps, imagery, infrastructure, and the environment.
Google Earth
With this interactive site with 3D capability, zoom into anywhere in the world and view 3D images through satellite imagery.
Great Salt Lake Hydro Mapper
From the USGS and Utah Water Center, use this site to find water data, lake characteristics, and simulations.
OpenStreetMap
OpenStreetMap provides open map data. "Contributors use aerial imagery, GPS devices, and low-tech field maps to verify that OSM is accurate and up to date."
Map Maker Interactive
From National Geographic, this "is a online mapping tool that allows teachers and students to explore the world using map themes, data, and tools."
USGS Earth Explorer
Search satellite images, aerial photography, datasets, and more.

Please note that these interactive resources may not be fully accessible.

Online Geography Videos

Films On Demand Collection This link opens in a new window
A large, multidisciplinary collection of streaming video with academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films on Demand specifically includes content for Physical, Human, and World Regional Geography.
AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window
AVON contains thousands of award winning films covering a wide range of subjects including: anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Try searching the Library's Films of Demand or AVON video databases for "geography." You may also try more specific topics and keywords. Watch videos or film clips on a wide variety of topics related to geography.

Videos on both Films on Demand and AVON have English captions and transcripts available.

U.S. Geological Survey Multimedia Gallery
Watch scientific animations, presentations, video shorts, training, and more related to USGS science and research. Videos should have closed captions and transcripts included.
UCSD-TV
The University of California San Diego Television's portal to search by topic. Try a keyword search for "geography." Videos should have closed captions and transcripts included.

Geography Image and Map Collections

USGS EROS Archive
"Explore the world’s largest civilian collection of images of the Earth’s surface. Find satellite images and data, aerial photography, elevation and land cover datasets, digitized maps, and our Image Gallery collections." Images should include alt text and descriptions.
NASA Earth Observatory
Find images on the atmosphere, heat, snow & ice, water, and more. Also search for global maps.
Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States
Explore the digitized version of the 1932 "Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States."
David Rumsey Map Collection
Find digitized maps from the 16th to 21st centuries, ranging from the Americas to World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania maps. Maps are described in detailed notes.

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy to chat about your project, research, or questions.

Libraries

Geography

Interactive Tools

Online Geography Videos

Geography Image and Map Collections

Want to hone your research skills?