LibGuides: Geography: GEOG 1700 Resources

Welcome to the GEOG 1700 section of the Geography research guide!

This page has been developed specifically for Natural Disasters. It will direct you to a variety of resources that may assist you with your research-based assignments and provide research tips.

Recommended Databases

Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Science Collection. Use ProQuest's Science & Technology collection to search 15 STEM databases for a variety of source types, including academic journal articles. Covered topics include: biology, biotechnology, computer science, engineering, environmental science, physics, and more.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contains recent and archival news content from the 1980s to present. Resources from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Australia are included.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Science Direct contains scholarly articles on a variety of topics including physical science and engineering, social sciences, and health sciences.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.

Recommended Websites

USGS Natural Hazards
Find research, multimedia, and news on the USGS' natural hazards programs, including earthquake, landslide, volcano, flood, and wildfire hazards.
FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency)
FEMA coordinates responses to disaster that have occurred in the U.S. which overwhelm the resources of local and state authorities.
NOAA: Research
NOAA Research provides the research foundation for understanding our planet.
National Centers for Environmental Information
NCEI includes weather news, data archives, and story maps, which may be related to natural disaster.

Finding Scientific Graphics

Remember to check permissions before you use images in your assignments and outside-of-class work.

Wikimedia Commons
Search a collection of freely usable media files. Includes public domain content from NOAA which may include disaster graphics and maps.
NASA Earth Observatory
Find images on the atmosphere, heat, snow & ice, water, and more. Use "Global Maps" tab to view maps on topics like ocean temperature, snow cover, fire, and more. Images include alt text and descriptions.
Pixabay
Download royalty-free photos, which are released under a license allowing for free use and modification but does not require attribution.

Searching Google for Websites

You can try the following Google search strategies to limit results to specific domains, websites, or find related sites if you find an organization or site of use:

limit results to a specific type of web domain using site:
- examples: site:.gov ... site:.edu
limit results to a specific website using site:
- examples: site:noaa.gov ... site:usgs.gov/science/science-explorer/natural-hazards