LibGuides: Atmospheric and Climate Science: Multimedia

Use this page to find different multimedia resources. It includes atmospheric sciences-specific streaming videos and image repositories. Also find interactive online content for learning more about the geosciences.

Interactive Simulations & Tools

NOAA: Interactive Maps
Interactively explore maps that visually show data about changes in climate, weather, oceans and coasts, and more.
NOAA: Sea Level Rise Viewer
"Use this web mapping tool to visualize community-level impacts from coastal flooding or sea level rise (up to 10 feet above average high tides). Photo simulations of how future flooding might impact local landmarks are also provided, as well as data related to water depth, connectivity, flood frequency, socio-economic vulnerability, wetland loss and migration, and mapping confidence."
Climate.gov's Maps & Data
Explore interactive climate data mapping, event trackers, and a global climate dashboard. Also includes links to open datasets.
The Climate Explorer
The U.S. climate Resilience Toolkit's Climate Explore lets you "explore how temperature, precipitation, and related climate variables are projected to change through 2100 in every county/borough in the U.S."
HHMI BioInteractive Classroom Resources
Explore virtual labs, interactive videos, and 3D models. Find materials on the atmosphere, climate, climate change, and more. Philanthropic organization HHMI's BioInteractive materials can be for educational purposes.
LabXchange
Find simulations, case studies, videos, interactive resources, and more for free. Try searching by subject area or by specific topics (e.g. "weather"). From Harvard.
Boston University Physics Simulations
Find online simulations relating to climate change. Simulations include: vehicle emissions, historical energy use, and USA electricity map.

Online Atmospheric Sciences Videos

Films On Demand Collection This link opens in a new window
This large collection of streaming video includes many films dealing with atmosphere, weather, and climate.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
AVON contains thousands of award winning films covering a wide range of subjects including: anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Try searching the Library's Films of Demand or AVON video databases for "atmospheric sciences." You may also try more specific topics and keywords. Watch videos or film clips on weather, climate change, air pollution, and more.

Videos on both Films on Demand and AVON have English captions and transcripts available.

U.S. Geological Survey Multimedia Gallery
Watch scientific animations, presentations, video shorts, training, and more related to USGS science and research. Videos should have closed captions and transcripts included.
UCSD-TV Geophysics and Earth Sciences
The University of California San Diego Television's page for geosciences videos, series, and podcasts. Videos should have closed captions and transcripts included.

Atmospheric Sciences-Related Government Image Collections

NASA Earth Observatory
Find images on the atmosphere, heat, snow & ice, water, and more. Use "Global Maps" tab to view maps on topics like ocean temperature, snow cover, fire, and more. Images include alt text and descriptions.
Image Gallery: Earth Resources Observation and Science Center
Find remarkable images from the USGS. The "Earth as Art" collections are notable. Images should include alt text and descriptions.

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy to chat about your project, research, or questions.

Libraries

Atmospheric and Climate Science

Interactive Simulations & Tools

Online Atmospheric Sciences Videos

Atmospheric Sciences-Related Government Image Collections

Want to hone your research skills?