LibGuides: Atmospheric and Climate Science: Library Databases

Welcome to the Atmospheric and Climate Science subject guide.

This research guide supports the Atmospheric and Climate Science emphasis of Earth and Environmental Science. It highlights resources on climate and weather, supporting SLCC's ATMO 1010 (Severe Weather) and ATMO 1020 (Climate Change) courses. Use the tabs above to explore recommended resources from the Library and the open web.

Need help? Keep an eye out for the "Pro Tips" in this guide that can help you find and use the information you need!

Databases

The Library's online databases provide many journal articles, e-books, and other sources on Atmospheric Science topics. Use the links below to get started finding resources from them.

Off Campus Access

Current students, faculty, and staff can access all electronic library resources off campus. When prompted, enter your MySLCC username and password.

Atmospheric Sciences Databases

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Science Direct contains scholarly articles on a variety of topics including physical science and engineering, social sciences, and health sciences.

Pro Tip: Use this guide to get started:

Introduction to Using Science Direct
Instructions on accessing and searching Science Direct. Accessible web-based guide on Google Docs.

Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Science Collection. Use ProQuest's Science & Technology collection to search 15 STEM databases. Subject coverage includes the atmosphere, climate, conservation, environmental science, biology, and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFile contains information related to aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, and more.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
Search and read FULL-TEXT from high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of BioOne's titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and focus on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences as well as paleontology.

Access Science (AAAS)

Read news and research articles directly on AAAS Science's website. If you are off campus, you may be prompted to authenticate with your MySLCC username and password. Please note the Library's access is only for the primary journal Science.

Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.
Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window
Science provides cutting-edge research, incisive scientific commentary, and insights on what’s important to the scientific world. The SLCC Library's access only includes their primary journal, Science.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
FULL-TEXT access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.

Want to access additional databases?

Pro Tip: You may need database coverage beyond what the Library has available. If so, with the UALC (Utah Academic Library Consortium) agreement, you can use other university or college libraries in the state. To do so, show your ID card and bring proof you are a current student at SLCC. Login with a guest pass and use their databases there. Check with each partner institution for their specific requirements.

Utah Academic Library Consortium (UALC) Partners

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy to chat about your project, research, or questions.

Libraries

Atmospheric and Climate Science

Subject Guide