This guide is designed to help students and faculty access credible resources related to the study of education.
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2014
What is a Library Database?
Short video tutorial discusses what sort of information can be found in library
databases and when to use them appropriately for research.
Generating Search Terms Short video tutorial discusses how to generate effective search terms for internet or database searching.
All Research Databases:
Find articles in journals, magazines and newspapers. You can also browse by title or topic.
A to Z journal search:
List of magazines, journals and newspapers with full-text articles available online or in print.
- ONE SEARCH (EBSCO Discovery Service)
This searches ALL the online sources, such as articles and e-books.
- CQ Researcher
(1991 to present) FULL-TEXT. This database creates an in depth report each week for a different issue in the news. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science and technology. Every report covers different sides of
Search single or multiple databases at once. FULL-TEXT. Search thousands of journals, magazines, newspapers and documents for subjects including general reference, social sciences, humanities, science, multi-cultural studies, education, business, health t
- Education Full-Text
Wilson index which covers 400 periodicals, yearbooks and monographs in numerous areas of education.
(Part of EBSCO) (Educational Resource Information Center) Contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals. No FULL-TEXT.
(Part of EBSCO) (1975 to present) Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, it provides FULL-TEXT for nearly 1,950 general reference publications and also 315 reference books. Updated daily
- MAS Ultra-School Edition
(Part of EBSCO) (1975 to present) Provides FULL-TEXT for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications. It also accesses pamphlets, reference books, and includes an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags.
- Middle Search Plus
(Part of EBSCO) (1990 to present) FULL-TEXT for more than 150 popular, magazines for middle and jr. high school research. Articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
- Primary Search
(Part of EBSCO) (1990 to present) FULL-TEXT for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. Articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
- Professional Development Collection
(Part of EBSCO) For professional educators, this database accesses over 500 FULL-TEXT education journals.
(Part of EBSCO) This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. FULL-TEXT from more than 1,500 periodicals.
- Vocational and Career Collection
(Part of EBSCO) Designed for vocational and technical libraries, this collection provides FULL-TEXT coverage for nearly 400 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Ask A Librarian
|Call the Reference Desk during the library hours
- Markosian Library: 801-957-4610.
- South City Campus library: 801-957-3435.
- Sandy Campus Library: 801-957-3720
- Jordan Campus Library: 801-957-6202
Text a Reference Librarian.
Text Elie to 66746 for instructions
Save 66746 in your contacts as Elie.
|E-mail a Reference Librarian. E-mails are checked during business hours, Mon. - Fri. and responses usually given within two working days.
In the field of Education either American Psychological Association (APA) or Modern Language Association (MLA) is used.
APA Style Guide:APA style guide is an on-line resource that provides information on correctly writing and citing in APA style.
MLA Style Guide:MLA style guide in an on-line resource that provides examples for citing your MLA style paper.