LibGuides: Education: Statistics & Websites

Find Statistics

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Part of the US Department of Education, NCES collects and analyzes data related to education in the US and other nations.
Department of Education Data Express
Created by the U.S. Department of Education, provides state profiles, data explorer, and data table builder.
Department of Education Data Dashboard
This dashboard from the U.S. Department of Education aligns data with President Obama's 2020 goals to track progress.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to over 1.5 million world-wide statistics and forecasts. The database includes over 20,000 reports, dossiers, and industry reports. The database is searchable by topic, industry, or markets.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Gateway Resources

Education.com
Education.com provides expert advice, features, columns and thousands of reference articles. This site also features developmental puzzles for every age.
Education World
This site supports educators by providing help with lesson plans, professional development and ideas on how to incorporate technology into lessons.
MERLOT
This site provides lesson plans, online teaching and tools for classroom development.
Pioneer: Utah's Online Library
This virtual public library supports links to other libraries in Utah and to online resources including newspapers, search engines and government offices.
U.S Department of Education
Links to reports on all aspects of the organization's work, including student aid, legislation, statistics, school locator, and many others.
Utah State Office of Education
Links to reports on all aspects of the organization's work, including student aid, legislation, statistics, school locator, within the state of Utah.

Other Education Sites

Academic Earth
A webpage with free online video courses from leading universities.
Discovery Education
Great K-12 site full of teacher resources. I'm sure some would be useful to our Developmental Education classes.
Khan Academy
Free educational videos with an emphasis on math and science, geared toward traditional students, but adult students are welcome as well. (Funded by Google and Bill and Melinda Gates.)
Open Yale Courses
Thirty-five Yale courses complete with downloadable classes in podcasts and video form, completely free.
The New Essay
A webpage describing how the standard essay needs to change to meet the needs of the Millennial generation's varied uses of technology.

Associations

American Association of Community Colleges
It has all that is good to know about the country's community colleges. Conference information and statistics, college directory, and other resources.
Educause
An Association that promotes the use of information technology in higher education.
JEA.org | Journalism Education Association
The Journalism Education Association, Inc., is the only independent national scholastic journalism organization for teachers and advisers.
League for Innovation in the Community College
An organization devoted to catalyzing community colleges to improve their education practices.
National Institute for Early Education Research
"The National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER) conducts and communicates research to support high quality, effective, early childhood education for all young children. [...] The Institute offers independent research-based advice and technical assistance to policy makers, journalists, researchers, and educators."
NEA: National Education Association Homepage
The National Education Association (NEA) the nation's largest professional employee organization ... Members & Educators: Parents & Community,Issues in Education and Legislative ...
Utah Education Association
UEA utilizes the strengths of its 18,000 members to influence policy makers and keep tabs on good and bad legislation.

Online Publications

National Resource Center for Paraprofessionals (NRCP)
Articles, bibliography, and links on training and managing para-educators.
Teaching Strategies & Disciplinary Resources
The purpose of these pages is to assist faculty and graduate student instructors (GSIs) in their teaching by providing on-line teaching strategies and resources.

Libraries

Education

Subject Guide