LibGuides: Social Work: Articles & Databases

Research Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocIndex contains full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Part of our EBSCO subscription. Some FULL-TEXT; contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries from literature in psychology and related disciplines. Indexes material from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 30 languages and dating back to the 1800's.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
FULL-TEXT access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.
ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search most of the Library's databases at the same time. It includes over 20 databases from various vendors and brings up many e-books as well.

Google Scholar
A vast, free-to-search multidisciplinary database. Turn on "Full Text @ SLCC" in Settings / Library.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This database creates an in depth report each week for a different issue in the news. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science and technology. Every report covers different sides of the issue and contains charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, and a list of resources.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, etc. devoted to the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. (from the vendor)
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Has coverage of over 150 U.S. and international newspapers. Ninety days of FULL-TEXT articles to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal are included. Use this source to find articles in the Salt Lake Tribune. Formerly called ProQuest Newsstand (Complete).

Not sure what to research? Here are a few ideas:

Look at a professional association's website to see what topics are currently trending (or follow them on social media)
Check out what researchers at other institutions are investigating in their Social Work departments
Use your textbook- which chapters or sections are most interesting to you?
Search for areas of interest in a reference source, like an encyclopedia (or textbook) to get more background information
Start with a big idea (i.e. "social work") and search it in a search engine or a the Library's OneSearch or ProQuest Central database; scroll through the results and look for items or keywords that jump out to you (i.e. social work and healthcare; social work and teenagers; social work and hospice; social work and libraries). You can build this into a list of keywords and/or a concept map to visually represent connections between the ideas you find interesting.
Look into other avenues for topic inspiration- maybe a podcast or newspaper editorial sparks your interest
Look at the table of contents from a recent issue of a Social Work journal- which articles interest you? One of them could be a source of inspiration AND a source for your project!

The links below might help you get started with some of these ideas:

Social Work Magazines (University of Utah College of Social Work)
View current and past issues of the University of Utah's College of Social Work magazines, Social Work Matters, Community Matters, Innovation Matters, Research Matters.
National Association of Social Workers
inSocialWork® Podcast Series
From their website: "inSocialWork® is the podcast series of the University at Buffalo School of Social Work. The purpose of this series is to engage practitioners and researchers in lifelong learning and to promote research to practice and practice to research. inSocialWork® features conversations with prominent social work professionals, interviews with cutting-edge researchers, and information on emerging trends and best practices in the field of social work."
NASW Social Work Talks Podcast

Advances in Social Work
This open access journal from the Indiana University School of Social Work is a great option for scholarly articles.
Child Welfare
From the Child Welfare League of America
Health and Social Work
International Social Work
International Social Work is a scholarly peer reviewed journal designed to extend knowledge and promote communication in the fields of social development, social welfare and human services. Its major focus is on international themes in the delivery of services. (From the publisher)
Social Work
Journal of the National Association of Social Workers

Statista This link opens in a new window
Access to over 1.5 million world-wide statistics and forecasts. The database includes over 20,000 reports, dossiers, and industry reports. The database is searchable by topic, industry, or markets.