SocIndex contains full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. and much more. Some links to FULL-TEXT.
FULL-TEXT Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Includes over 500 peer-reviewed titles, plus almost 50 other titles.
Part of our EBSCO subscription. Some FULL-TEXT; contains more than 1.8 million citations and summaries from literature in psychology and related disciplines. Indexes material from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 30 languages and dating back to the 1800's.
This database creates an in depth report each week for a different issue in the news. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, science and technology. Every report covers different sides of the issue and contains charts, graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, and a list of resources.
A FULL-TEXT collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, etc. devoted to the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. (from the vendor)
Has coverage of over 150 U.S. and international newspapers. Ninety days of FULL-TEXT articles to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal are included. Use this source to find articles in the Salt Lake Tribune. Formerly called ProQuest Newsstand (Complete).
Look at a professional association's website to see what topics are currently trending (or follow them on social media)
Check out what researchers at other institutions are investigating in their Social Work departments
Use your textbook- which chapters or sections are most interesting to you?
Search for areas of interest in a reference source, like an encyclopedia (or textbook) to get more background information
Start with a big idea (i.e. "social work") and search it in a search engine or a the Library's OneSearch database; scroll through the results and look for items or keywords that jump out to you (i.e. social work and healthcare; social work and teenagers; social work and hospice; social work and libraries). You can build this into a list of keywords and/or a concept map to visually represent connections between the ideas you find interesting.
Look into other avenues for topic inspiration- maybe a podcast or newspaper editorial sparks your interest
The links below might help you get started with some of these ideas:
View current and past issues of the University of Utah's College of Social Work magazines, Social Work Matters, Community Matters, Innovation Matters, Research Matters.
From their website: "inSocialWork® is the podcast series of the University at Buffalo School of Social Work. The purpose of this series is to engage practitioners and researchers in lifelong learning and to promote research to practice and practice to research. inSocialWork® features conversations with prominent social work professionals, interviews with cutting-edge researchers, and information on emerging trends and best practices in the field of social work."
International Social Work is a scholarly peer reviewed journal designed to extend knowledge and promote communication in the fields of social development, social welfare and human services. Its major focus is on international themes in the delivery of services. (From the publisher)
Access to over 1.5 million world-wide statistics and forecasts. The database includes over 20,000 reports, dossiers, and industry reports. The database is searchable by topic, industry, or markets.
