LibGuides: Physics: Web Resources

There are many excellent open web resources that you may wish to use to supplement the Library's digital and physical resources. These include open-access journals, freely available databases, organizations' websites, and more. Explore the links below to help find and utilize these sources.

Open Access or Government Databases

arXiv.org
(Pronounced "archive") A free, online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in physics, mathematics, computer science, and more. Most articles are not peer-reviewed.
World Wide Science
"Global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases"
TRAIL
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports that are physically disappearing from libraries.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Open-access, peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles for multiple disciplines

Additional Websites

Physical Reference Data
From the National Institute of Standards and Technology, find links to physical constants, the periodic table, and other useful data.
Science.gov
Content provided by 13 federal agencies on a wide variety of scientific subjects.
CERN: Physics
The CERN Laboratory's website providing information on their physics research program, covering "topics from the basic structure of matter to cosmic rays, and from the Standard Model to supersymmetry."
Khan Academy Physics Library
Find videos, articles, and exercises on a wide range of core Physics topics and concepts.
MIT Open CourseWare: Physics
Find courses, materials, and resources on undergraduate physics from MIT.

More Places to Search

Google Scholar

Note: Did you know you can link Google Scholar to the Library? Select the icon with the three horizontal lines and then choose "Settings" and "Library links." Type "Salt Lake Community College Libraries" into the search bar, tick the box next to it, and choose "Save." You can look for links from the Google Scholar search results to the Library's resources on the right side of your results list.

ResearchGate
This is a social networking site for scientists and researchers to connect and share papers. Links to ResearchGate PDFs may appear in your Google Scholar results. You must sign up with a free account to use ResearchGate.

Trying to Get Access to a Specific Article?

If you are looking for a specific article and you hit a paywall, please do not pay for access! Try these methods to find what you need

ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search for the article by title in the Library's OneSearch.
EBSCO Publication Finder (JOURNALS) This link opens in a new window
Search for the publication in the Library's journal Publication Finder.

Make an ILL request with ILLiad
ILL Guidelines
Unpaywall
Pro Tip: If you use Google Chrome as your preferred browser, try adding the free Chrome extension Unpaywall. It will show you a green, unlocked icon when there is a legal, full-text version of the article you want available. This extension is not compatible with the Library's databases.

Finally, try asking a librarian. They're whizzes at finding information! You can contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian Amy Scheelke at Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Professional Associations

American Institute of Physics
The organization supports member societies and works "to advance, promote, and serve the physical sciences."
Society of Physics Students
Organized by the American Institute of Physics, this is designed for undergraduate students. Find career tips, resources, and more. Not all content is freely available.
American Astronomical Society
The AAS "is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America."

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy to chat about your project, research, or questions.