LibGuides: Physics: PHYS 1040 Resources

Elementary Astronomy Recommendations

This page has been developed specifically for PHYS 1040: Elementary Astronomy. It includes recommended resources of various types. The resources may support students with the class's ePortfolio signature assignment.

Library Databases

Use the Library's databases to find a variety of sources on your astronomy topic. You can find academic journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, along with additional resources.

ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search most of the Library's databases simultaneously. Experiment with keyword searches to find articles on your topic. An initial search could be: "space exploration" benefit. *Note: Due to database vendor shifts, the OneSearch interface is subject to change.
Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Science Collection. Use ProQuest's Science & Technology collection to search 15 STEM databases for a variety of source types, including academic journal articles. It contains several astronomy-specific publications, including "Advances in Astronomy" and "Astronomy" magazine.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Science Direct contains scholarly articles on a variety of topics, including Physics and Astronomy.
EBSCO Publication Finder (JOURNALS) This link opens in a new window
Find specific publications. Try selecting "Astronomy & Astrophysics" in the "Browse by Discipline" box to see the journals dedicated to this topic.

Open Web Resources

NASA
Explore the NASA website to find a wealth of information and variety of resources related to space exploration and research.
Ciencia de la NASA
Explora el sitio web de la NASA para encontrar una gran cantidad de información y una variedad de recursos relacionados con la exploración espacial e investigación.
arXiv.org
(Pronounced "archive") An open-access archive for scholarly articles in physics. Many articles describing the discovery of supernovas, exoplanets, etc. can be found here.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NTRS provides public access to NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. It includes conference proceedings, journal articles, technical reports, oral/visual presentations, and more.
PubMed Central
Use PubMed Central to find articles on the intersections between space exploration and health and medicine.
SciTechDaily: Space News
"Discover the current news on space exploration, astronomy, astrophysics, cosmology, and more..."
Space.com
Find news about astronomy, outer space, telescopes, star gazing, and more.

Book Resources

Books are an excellent option if you choose to research a famous astronomer. Contact the Library to see if we have a book specifically on the astronomer you've selected.

eBooks

To find eBooks on your astronomy ePortfolio assignment topic, search the Library's three eBook collections. Ask a librarian if you'd like assistance finding an item.