LibGuides: Nursing: Web Sites

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Spotlighted Databases

Helpful sites selected by
Mrs. Charles's Independent Health Studies Students from Morrison Charter School

Is a Career in Nursing Right for You?
Nursing information and web links broken out into the following areas:
*Nursing Resource Guide
*Nurses Through History
*Elderly Health
*Career Guide for Nurses
*Florence Nightingale
*Anatomy Learning Center
*Nursing For Kids
MCAT
The official Medical College Admission Test web site for those interested in pursuing advanced nursing or other medical degrees not taught at SLCC
Nurse.org
A hospital review community for nurses, built by nurses. Offers a directory of 5200 hospitals, scholarship information and employment information for recent grads.
Nursing Career Resource
Detailed info about working in different areas, Labor & Delivery, ERs, public schools, etc, and as nurse practicioners or anesthetists. With additional information on financial aid, children's vaccines, first aid resources, and wilderness nurses
Nursing Education: Financial Aid Guide
This is a recent article from Distance Education.Org describing what types of financial aid are available and how to apply. It has a nice list of web sites with general information and aid, and grants and loans specifically for nursing.
Nursing: Career Overview
From the Mayo Clinic, this is a good overview of the different levels of nursing, job outlook and descriptions of different settings where nurses are hired.
Nursing School Accreditation
Reasons for choosing an accredited nursing school from AllNursingSchools.com.

Gateway Resources

MedEdPORTAL
"Users can access quality, peer-reviewed teaching material and assessment tools in both the basic and clinical sciences in medicine and in oral health.
With MedEdPORTAL, users can download or access the majority of the published resources directly from the website. Published authors retain their original copyrights and indicate on the MedEdPORTAL website how others may use the materials."
Consumer & Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS)
Web sites you can trust. A detailed directory of recommended Web sites.
more...less...
From the Medical Library Association. Also see the User's Guide just below.
Martindale's Health Science Guide
A mega-site with many tools for students: journals, dictionaries, case information. Also gives provider guidelines, shows how to give exams, and gives lab diagnostics and protocols.
Medline Plus
From the large medical library and the creator of the MEDLINE database, this gives an alphabetical list of topics for more than 300 specific diseases, conditions, and other issues. Also goes to PubMed: Medline search.
more...less...
Each topic page has links to authoritative information on that subject, as well as linking to a MEDLINE search to retrieve journal article citations (with some links to the full-text articles).
Also see the EBSCOhost Medline database.
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
more...less...
PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

General Information Sources

Barbara Bates Center for the Study of the History of Nursing
This site gives details about the center, which focuses on nursing and health care in the United States. They also research different fields in nursing.
The BrainWeb
"BrainWeb provides information and links to validated sites about brain diseases and disorders. These include outside resources reviewed by scientific advisors, as well as articles in Dana publications.
Sites listed in BrainWeb detail more than 25 common brain diseases and disorders, and include some of the Internet’s best general neuroscience and health resources."
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Big government site dealing with current diseases, epidemics, etc.
more...less...
This would be the place to go for information on a topic such as the West Nile Virus, for instance.
Diagnosaurus 2.0
A useful reference resource which gives connections between symptoms and diseases. From McGraw-Hill.
more...less...
Diagnosaurus 2.0 is derived from McGraw-Hill’s 2007 CURRENT Consult: Medicine and was created by Roni F. Zeiger, M.D.
Get Body Smart
Anatomy information.
Heart Library
Presented by doctors, this site gives great layman information on various heart conditions and prevention.
Mayo Clinic
This site offers easy-to-understand health and medical information. In addition to diseases and conditions, the site has a number of healthy living guides and helpful resources such as Health Tools, Treatment Decision Guides and Ask a Specialist.
more...less...
Web site content is reviewed for accuracy by Mayo Clinic experts.
MedEdPORTAL
"Users can access quality, peer-reviewed teaching material and assessment tools in both the basic and clinical sciences in medicine and in oral health.
With MedEdPORTAL, users can download or access the majority of the published resources directly from the website. Published authors retain their original copyrights and indicate on the MedEdPORTAL website how others may use the materials."
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Site offers material on diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of common health topics. As well as current drug information, quizzes, and conversion tables.
National Cancer Instititude (and Database)
Large cancer information site. Also see the PDQ-NCI's comprehensive Cancer database under Cancer Topics. Provides research, trial information, and statistics.
National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health
Recognizing that high-quality maternal & child health services are vital to the health of the nation, the NCEMCH was established as a national resource to the MCH community.
more...less...
The Center's multidisciplinary staff collaborates with a broad range of federal agencies, corporate and philanthropic partners, professional organizations, and academic institutions.
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
NCHS lists health statistics for the United States. Information such as births, deaths, health insurance statistics, and injury classifications are included.
Nursing Center
Educational web site designed to keep nurses up-to-date in their profession.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
Nursing Theory Link Page
This is a page put together by Dr. Eichelberger of Clayton State University School of Nursing. This is a good starting point to finding nursing theorist and nursing theory.
RN Central.Com
"RN Central is a special place on the web for nurses and students. More than just a list of links, RN Central is a website where nurses can enjoy themselves, and find information important to nursing and becoming a nurse."
more...less...
Includes several articles found in the "Library" section.
RX List.Com
Drug finder and guide.
Special Populations: Emergency and Disaster Preparedness
"Committed to improving access to toxicology & environmental health info to underserved communities, health-related disaster info in Central America, HIV/AIDS info resources by community-based orgs & health info for all minorities & underserved populations"
Test and Calc.Com
Drug Calculations for Health Professionals generates tests, solutions, help and tracks results for common drug calculations.
Travel Nursing
Resources on the Travel Nursing career choice.
Utah Department of Health
Provides links to Utah public health data.
Utah Nursing Jobs - Find Nursing Jobs in Utah
Find great Utah nursing jobs at NursingJobs.org, the web's #1 nursing employment resource. Or post your resume in complete privacy and let employers find you.

Professional Associations

Utah Nurses Association
Gives membership details, news, information, and links for Utah nurses.
American Assembly for Men in Nursing
Features a forum for male nurses to discuss areas which affect and involve men in nursing with how to make changes if possible.
American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
Offers information on certification, specific chapters, publications, meetings and events, teleconference programs, publications, research, etc.. Additional information is given for members.
American Nurses Association
Provides information about the organization, as well as membership listings by state, credential information, access to online nursing publications, and links to organizations.
National League for Nursing
This is a general nursing resource which provides much nursing-related information and relevant links. The site provides extensive data about the NLN, including its councils, membership, and newsletter. Accreditation and testing information also given.
Organization for Associate Degree Nursing
Gives the mission and membership information about the organization. It also provides a Web Board on which persons may post and respond to others about associate degree nursing.
National Student Nurses' Association
This site gives membership information as well as career planning resources, employment links, and online versions of the association publications "Imprint" and "NSNA News."

Instruction and Liaison Librarian

Michael Toy

Contact:

Salt Lake Community College
Jordan Campus
3491 West Wights Fort Road JHS 235B
West Jordan, Utah 84088

801-957-6208

Subjects: Health Sciences

Libraries

Nursing