LibGuides: Exercise Science: Library Databases

Welcome to the Exercise Science subject guide!

This guide can help you find resources on Exercise Science topics. Use the tabs to explore recommended resources from the Library and the open web.

Databases

The Library's online databases provide many journal articles, e-books, and other sources on Exercise Science topics. Use the links below to get started finding resources from them.

Off Campus Access

Current students, faculty, and staff can access all electronic library resources off campus. When prompted, enter your MySLCC username and password.

Exercise Science Databases

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
The go-to database for exercise science, kinesiology, nutrition, and more. It covers sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, fitness, and sports.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Science Direct contains scholarly articles on a variety of topics including physical science and engineering, social sciences, and health sciences.
Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Science Collection. Use ProQuest's Science & Technology collection to search 15 STEM databases for a variety of source types, including academic journal articles Full-text articles on exercise and fitness subjects are included.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL.

New Access to Science (AAAS)!

The Library is pleased to announce a new way to access the journal Science! Search for and read news and research articles directly on AAAS Science's website. If you are off campus, you may be prompted to authenticate with your MySLCC username and password. Please note the Library's access is only for the primary journal Science.

Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.
Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window
Science provides cutting-edge research, incisive scientific commentary, and insights on what’s important to the scientific world. The SLCC Library's access only includes their primary journal, Science.
ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search many of the Library's databases at the same time. SLCC Library Services changed their primary vendor in July 2024, which impacts OneSearch. The search interface is subject to change.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
FULL-TEXT access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.

Search for Journals by Title

EBSCO Publication Finder (JOURNALS) This link opens in a new window
Search for publications by title withing many of the Library's databases. You may also search or browse this tool by subject area.

Research Tip:

Try selecting "Sports & Leisure," "Sports Medicine," or "Physical Therapy & Occupational Therapy" in the "Browse by Discipline" box to see the hundreds of journals dedicated to these topics.

Want to access additional databases?

Pro Tip: You may need database coverage beyond what the Library has available. If so, with the UALC (Utah Academic Library Consortium) agreement, you can use other university or college libraries in the state. To do so, show your ID card and bring proof you are a current student at SLCC. Login with a guest pass and use their databases there. Check with each partner institution for their specific requirements.

Utah Academic Library Consortium (UALC) Partners

Ask a Librarian

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy to chat about your project, research, or questions.

Libraries

Exercise Science

Subject Guide