LibGuides: Engineering: Web Resources

There are many excellent open web resources that you may wish to use to supplement the Library's digital and physical resources. These include open-access journals, freely available databases, organizations' websites, and more. Explore the links below to help find and utilize these sources.

Open Access or Government Databases

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Find scientific and technical content published by IEEE and its partners. Make sure to select "Open Access" on the left side of the search results to get full text. Includes journal and magazines articles, conference documents, and more.
Engineering Commons
Free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from worldwide universities and colleges
engrXiv
A free, online engineering archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints. Most articles have not yet gone through peer-review or been published in academic journals, and some may still be draft manuscripts.
Aerospace Research Central
This database contains journals from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). Use the "Advanced search" option and select "Open access content only" to find freely available articles.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NTRS provides public access to NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. It includes conference proceedings, journal articles, technical reports, oral/visual presentations, and more.
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
NTRL contains federally-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business information. Make sure to select "only documents with full text." It includes technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, patents, and more.
OSTI.gov
The U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Scientific and Technical Information includes science, technology, and engineering research and development results. It has over 70 years of information with 3 million records.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Open-access, peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles for multiple disciplines

Additional Websites

National Nanotechnology Initiative (NNI)
The NNI is a research and development initiative for the US the government. Find general information about nanotechnology and more.
MATLAB Documentation
View release notes, learn MATLAB basics, troubleshoot issues, and more from the MathWorks Help Center.
Science.gov
Content provided by 13 federal agencies on a wide variety of scientific subjects.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, find information and publications from NIST's major labs - including engineering - and programs.
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
Learn more about the organization which "coordinates the U.S. voluntary standards and conformity assessment system," some of which apply to various engineering fields.
eFunda: Engineering Fundamentals
This is a reference site for college-levels engineering content designed for practicing engineers.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSE)
A part of the National Science Foundation focused on the "collection, interpretation, analysis, and dissemination of objective data on the science and engineering enterprise."
EverySpec
Provides free access to Military, Department of Defense, Federal, NASA, DOE, and Government specifications, standards, handbooks, and publications which are in the public domain.
American Elements
For Materials Science: Includes general and career information, as well as an interactive periodic table showing how elements are used in engineering
MatWeb: Material Property Data
"MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."
National Nanotechnology Initiative
A U.S. Government research and development initiative for nanotechnology
WolframAlpha: Engineering
"Explore various facets of engineering, including computing formulas and constants for electricity, materials science, aerodynamics and more."
Phys.org: Engineering News
Read engineering and other science, research, and technology news from Science X.

Open Access Engineering Journals

Use freely available, open access journals to find scholarly sources and supplement sources found via the Library's databases.

Results in Engineering
Peer-reviewed journal publishing research papers and "micro-articles" on all aspects of engineering
Advances in Civil Engineering
Includes theoretical and practice, peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of civil engineering

More Places to Search

Google Scholar

Note: Did you know you can link Google Scholar to the Library? Select the icon with the three horizontal lines and then choose "Settings" and "Library links." Type "Salt Lake Community College Libraries" into the search bar, tick the box next to it, and choose "Save." You can look for links from the Google Scholar search results to the Library's resources on the right side of your results list.

ResearchGate
This is a social networking site for scientists and researchers to connect and share papers. Links to ResearchGate PDFs may appear in your Google Scholar results. You must sign up with a free account to use ResearchGate.

Trying to Get Access to a Specific Article?

If you are looking for a specific article and you hit a paywall, please do not pay for access! Try these methods to find what you need

ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search for the article by title in the Library's OneSearch.
EBSCO Publication Finder (JOURNALS) This link opens in a new window
Search for the publication in the Library's journal Publication Finder.

Make an ILL request with ILLiad
ILL Guidelines
Unpaywall
Pro Tip: If you use Google Chrome as your preferred browser, try adding the free Chrome extension Unpaywall. It will show you a green, unlocked icon when there is a legal, full-text version of the article you want available. This extension is not compatible with the Library's databases.

Finally, try asking a librarian. They're whizzes at finding information! You can contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian Amy Scheelke at Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Engineering Career Information

TRY Engineering
An initiative from IEEE providing overviews of the various career options available for engineering students

Professional Associations

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE)
Professional organization for the advancement of technology
American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)
Organization to promote education in engineering.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
ASME "promotes the art, science and practice of multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences around the globe."
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Organization for American civil engineers.
Society of Women Engineers
Mutual support web site for women engineers.

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy to chat about your project, research, or questions.