LibGuides: Engineering: Library Databases

Welcome to the Engineering subject guide.

This guide can help you find resources on Engineering topics. Use the tabs to explore recommended resources from the Library and the open web.

Databases

The Library's online databases provide many journal articles, e-books, and other sources on Engineering topics. Use the links below to get started finding resources from them.

Off Campus Access

Current students, faculty, and staff can access all electronic library resources off campus. When prompted, enter your MySLCC username and password.

Engineering Databases

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Science Direct contains scholarly articles on a variety of topics including chemical engineering, engineering, materials science, and many other science-based subjects.

Need help? Use this guide to get started:

Introduction to Using Science Direct
Instructions on accessing and searching Science Direct. Accessible web-based guide on Google Docs.

Science & Technology This link opens in a new window
Formerly Natural Science Collection. Use ProQuest's Science & Technology collection to search 15 STEM databases for a variety of source types, including academic journal articles. Full-text articles on all aspects of engineering are included.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Use SPORTdiscus to discover scholarly sources on exercise and thermodynamics for ENGR 2300.

Open Web Engineering Databases and Search Tools

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Find scientific and technical content published by IEEE and its partners. Make sure to select "Open Access" on the left side of the search results to get full text. Includes journal and magazines articles, conference documents, and more.
engrXiv
A free, online engineering archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints. Most articles have not yet gone through peer-review or been published in academic journals, and some may still be draft manuscripts.
Google Scholar
Connect Scholar to the SLCC Library by opening "Settings" and "library Links." Search for "Salt Lake Community College" and select it.

Access Science (AAAS)

Read news and research articles directly on AAAS Science's website. If you are off campus, you may be prompted to authenticate with your MySLCC username and password. Please note the Library's access is only for the primary journal Science.

Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search for many types of sources across many disciplines using the College's new primary database bundle, replacing many of our EBSCO products.
Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window
Science provides cutting-edge research, incisive scientific commentary, and insights on what’s important to the scientific world. The SLCC Library's access only includes their primary journal, Science.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
FULL-TEXT access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.

Want to access additional databases?

Pro Tip: You may need database coverage beyond what the Library has available. If so, with the UALC (Utah Academic Library Consortium) agreement, you can use other university or college libraries in the state. To do so, show your ID card and bring proof you are a current student at SLCC. Login with a guest pass and use their databases there. Check with each partner institution for their specific requirements.

Utah Academic Library Consortium (UALC) Partners

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy to chat about your project, research, or questions.

Libraries

Engineering

Subject Guide