LibGuides: Computer Science: Useful Websites

Networking

Basics of Computer Networking
Provides a foundational understanding of computer networking.
LAN and WAN technologies
Slide show presenting definitions and concepts of internetworking technology.
The TCP/IP Guide
The TCP/IP Guide is a reference resource on the TCP/IP protocol suite that was designed to be not only comprehensive, but comprehensible.

Operating Systems

Unix Guru Universe
Website focused on UNIX administration.
Linux.org
Resource for Linux, including how-to guides.
OS News
News about operating systems.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and other Resources

14 Application Cheat Sheets & Posters for Popular Programs
Great cheat sheets for Microsoft Office, Google Chrome, Firefox, Linux, Unix, Vi/Vim, Photoshop and more.
ASCII Conversion Table
ASCII stands for American Standard Code for Information Interchange.
Center for Internet Security
The leading organization of IT professionals dedicated to providing secure computing environments in the cloud.
Color Palette Generator
Create color schemes for your webpage.
Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency
Provides tips and resources on common risks encountered by non-technical computer users.
Department of Defense Cyber Crime Center
An excellent resource with cyber training, news, and technical solutions for cybersecurity.
Digital Logic
Explanation of the three basic logic functions: AND, OR and NOT.
Information Systems Security Association
An organization committed to protecting critical information by providing tools and resources to those working in cybersecurity.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE)
Professional organization for the advancement of technology
TechWeb.com Encyclopedia
TechWeb offers definitions and links to over 20,000 information technology terms.
Usability.gov
Provides templates, methods, guidelines to create an accessible webpage.
NASA Software Catalog
The 2019-2020 NASA Software Catalog offers hundreds of new software programs you can download for free to use in a wide variety of technical applications.

Internet Tips and Help

How to Child-Proof the Internet from PC World.Com
Tips on filters, securing devices, social networks, etc.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Programming and Languages

C# Station
Tutorials and links for the C# programming language.
The C++ Source
Online journal for C++ programmers.
C and C++ Programming
Cprogramming.com is a web site designed to help you learn the C or C++ programming languages, and provide you with C and C++ programming language resources.
Catalog of Free Compilers and Interpreters
This list catalogs freely available software for language tools, which includes the following: compilers, compiler generators, interpreters, translators, important libraries, assemblers, etc. -- things whose user interface is a language.
Computer Programming
Presented by Khan Academy, a collection of lessons to get you better acquainted with computer programming.
Delphi Tutorials
Links to free tutorials, lessons and resources for the Delphi programming language. There are also links to recommended books.
Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
Dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, and related definitions.
Getting Started with Visual Basic
Walkthroughs provided by the Visual Basic Developer Center at MSDN. Also provides a list of web sites and forums to help find answers to common problems.
Groovy
Groovy is an object-oriented programming language for the Java platform
Introduction to HTML
Basic and advanced HTML coding are covered. Examples and quizzes are available along with a list of HTML references.
The Java Tutorials
The Java Tutorials are practical guides for programmers who want to use the Java programming language to create applications. They include hundreds of complete, working examples, and dozens of lessons.
PHP Tutorial
PHP is a widely-used general-purpose scripting language that is especially suited for Web development and can be embedded into HTML. If you are new to PHP and want to get some idea of how it works, try this tutorial.
Process Library
A detailed online database that contains comprehensive information on the many processes that run on a computer.
Programiz
Contains useful tutorials and examples for those learning to code.
SQL Tutorial
SQL, or structured query language, is a programming language designed to manipulate data in relational database systems.
The Top 10 Programming Languages
Graphical list of the top 10 most popular programming languages.
Unix/Linux Bourne/Bash Shell Scripting Tutorial
Ttutorial on how to write scripts for Unix/Linux.
Using Oracle PL/SQL
PL/SQL (Procedural Language/Structured Query Language) is Oracle Corporation's procedural extension language for SQL and the Oracle relational database.
Web Developer's Handbook
An extensive guide with useful links for web design.
World Wide Web Consortium
This group's aim is to develop protocols, standards and guidelines to lead the WWW to its full potential and ensure long-term growth for the web.

Online Communities

All About Circuits
A community for electrical engineers to share their expertise and experience.
Codecademy
Programming tutorials for JavaScript, Python, Ruby and web fundamentals.
Database Journal
News, videos, articles and tutorials covering MS SQL, Oracle, DB2, MySQL and other databases.
Gamedev.net
Online community for game developers.
GitHub
Secure source coding and collaborative development. Free public repositories, collaborator management, issue tracking, wikis, downloads, code review, etc.
Stackoverflow.com
Stack Overflow is a programming Q & A site that’s free.

Libraries

Computer Science