LibGuides: Culinary Arts, Hospitality: Websites

Salt Lake Community College Culinary Institute

Salt Lake Community College Culinary Institute
Where to start if you are looking for information on the Culinary Arts program offered at Salt Lake Community College.

Gateway Resources

Eat With
Guide to foods, local foods, restaurants, and supper clubs in various cities.
Epicurious
Epicurious.com is a commercial website but it features plenty of useful, free content. Includes demo videos, podcast links, recipe search boxes, a culinary resources section, and more.
Food52
Online food magazine.
The Sifter
A publicly available searchable database and is designed to be a tool to aid in finding, identifying and comparing historical and contemporary writing on food and related topics.
Chef and Restaurant Database
Explore the database to find top chefs and establishments from around the world.
Food Service and Culinary Organizations
A list of helpful links provided by the USDA to associations and organizations that provide low-cost food and nutritional materials.

Food Safety and Sanitation Resources

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention Food Safety Office
U.S. Food Safety site with up-to-date food safety topics and articles. Education on how to prevent food borne illnesses, etc.
The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network (FARE)
Lists common food allergies and reactions, FAQs, research, recipes, and more.
Food Safety.gov
Gateway website to government food safety information.
U.S. Department of Agriculture Food Safety & Inspection Service
FSIS website allows questions and answers about food safety, hundreds of printable food safety fact sheets, meat and poultry hotline info, etc.

General Information Resources

Bruce German Fixes Dinner (about Nutrition)
Bruce German is a prof. at UC-Davis.
ChefTalk
An excellent resource with useful forums and blogs covering topics such as food preparation, product reviews, and catering.
Cooking Tips Online
Offers tips on cooking arranged by types of food, beginner cooking techniques, cooking definitions, and more.
Cookstr
Recipes from chefs from all over the world.
Eatocracy on CNN
CNN's website all about eating and what's cooking. Discover information under these tabs: news, bite, sip, make, think, and buzz.
Eat Your Books
Perfect site for anyone with cookbooks. It indexes all recipes in over 96,000 cookbooks, as well as cooking magazines / blogs. A highly useful tool to use in searching in cookbooks for that elusive recipe that you know you have, somewhere. Free set-up for up to five cookbooks; paid subscription includes five or more from your personal library of cookbooks.
Nutrition Source
Harvard research site on nutrition. Check "antioxidants" for an interesting article.
Paleo Diet overview from U.S. News & World Rept.
Trendy diet examined.
TasteSpotting
Visual pot luck. Images of food dishes and comments on how they are made. Beautiful food photography.

Herb Horticulture Resources

The Herb Spiral
Comprehensive website with links to individual herb pages and a section on cooking with herbs and more.
Spices: Exotic Flavors and Medicines
From the UCLA Biomedical Library, this site delves into culinary herbs, as well as medicinal properties of spices and herbs.

Glossaries

The Cook's Thesaurus
The Cook's Thesaurus is a cooking encyclopedia that covers thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools. Entries include pictures, descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations, and suggested substitutions.
The Food Lovers Companion
Know sate from sauté, semifreddo from spoom? Over 4000 food terms defined. Hosted by epicurious.com

Online Publications

Cook’s Illustrated
Online version of Cook’s Illustrated magazine. Useful Quick Tips and Ask Cook’s sections. Come into the Markosian Library to access the subscription portion of this database.
Edible Wasatch
Edible Wasatch is a locally and independently owned member of Edible Communities Inc. whose mission is to inspire readers to explore our regional food system and support local producers, restaurants and related businesses by voting with their forks.
Fine Cooking
Fine Cooking magazine’s online version provides an editor’s blog, “The Kitchen Sink,” a Tips & Techniques section, a Tools & Ingredients section, equipment reviews and more.
Saveur
Online website for Saveur magazine, focusing on global cuisine. Sections for technique, recipes, travel, wine & drink, travel, and discussion forums.

Wine and Beverage Resources

Court of the Master Sommeliers
Governing and certifying body of Sommeliers for the United States.
Diffords Guide
Guide for cocktails, etc. Very comprehensive.
Song of the Vine
Digital exhibition on History of Wine from Cornell Univ.
Wine Enthusiast (online)
The online version of Wine Enthusiast magazine, with vintage charts, wine and spirits ratings, and archived articles.
Wine Spectator
Provides reviews to over 15,000 wines a year.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Prof. Associations

American Culinary Federation
professional chefs’ organization.
American Hotel and Lodging Educational Foundation - The AHLEF exists to provide the tools and resources for those planning a career in the hotel and lodging industry.
International Association of Culinary Professionals
Mission of IACP is the serve as a resource and support system for food professionals worldwide. IACP helps its members to achieve career success ethically, responsibly and professionally.
National Restaurant Association Leading business association for the restaurant industry. Student and faculty memberships available. Article links full of practical tips, in “Running Your Business” and other sections.

Libraries

Culinary Arts, Hospitality

Assistant Director for Instruction, Liaison, & Reference Services

Text-A-Librarian