s scientists debated the nature of life in the nineteenth century, two theories predominated: vitalism, which suggested that living things contained a “vital spark,” and mechanism, the idea that animals and humans differed from nonliving things only in their degree of complexity. Erik Peterson tells the forgotten story of the pursuit of a “third way'in biology, known by many names, including “the organic philosophy,” which gave rise to C. H. Waddington's work in the subfield of epigenetics: an alternative to standard genetics and evolutionary biology that captured the attention of notable scientists from Francis Crick to Stephen Jay Gould. The Life Organic chronicles the influential biologists, mathematicians, philosophers, and biochemists from both sides of the Atlantic who formed Joseph Needham's Theoretical Biology Club, defined and refined “third way” thinking through the 1930s, and laid the groundwork for some of the most cutting-edge achievements in biology today. By tracing the persistence of organicism into the twenty-first century, this book also raises significant questions about how we should model the development of the discipline of biology going forward.
'Fossils are the fragments from which, piece by laborious piece, the great mosaic of the history of life has been constructed. Here and there, we can supplement these meager scraps by the use of biochemical markers or geochemical signatures that add useful information, but, even with such additional help, our reconstructions and our models of descent are often tentative. For the fossil record is, as we have seen, as biased as it is incomplete. But fragmentary, selective, and biased though it is, the fossil record, with all its imperfections, is still a treasure. Though whole chapters are missing, many pages lost, and the earliest pages so damaged as to be, as yet, virtually unreadable, this—the greatest biography of all—is one in whose closing pages we find ourselves.'—from OriginsIn Origins, Frank H. T. Rhodes explores the origin and evolution of living things, the changing environments in which they have developed, and the challenges we now face on an increasingly crowded and polluted planet. Rhodes argues that the future well-being of our burgeoning population depends in no small part on our understanding of life's past, its long and slow development, and its intricate interdependencies.Rhodes's accessible and extensively illustrated treatment of the origins narrative describes the nature of the search for prehistoric life, the significance of geologic time, the origin of life, the emergence and spread of flora and fauna, the evolution of primates, and the emergence of modern humans.
Genome editing using CRISPR has been identified as one breakthrough technology in recent research. Today, it is difficult to open a journal or a newspaper without reading about the application of CRISPR gene editing technology to basic research, public health, therapeutics or diagnostics. Although some problems of CRISPR remain to be solved, such as bio-safety and ethical issues, it may change people's futures. This book is to meet the needs of basic molecular biochemists, pharmacologists, medical students, clinical practitioners and scientists, as well as a broad spectrum of readers who wish to understand the advances in research and applications of CRISPR. The contributing authors are basic scientists as well as students who major in biochemistry and pharmacology. The book presents the current research in the CRISPR model, focusing on its advances and applications. Topics discussed in this compilation include: Targeting of hepatic diseases using CRISPR; applications and advances of CRISPR in animal models; gene targeting on the Cyp2c Locus in rats via CRISPR; applications of CRISPR for therapy in human genetic diseases; utilization of CRISPR in gene function and drug target validation; applications of CRISPR in plant genome editing; and genome editing on human embryos using CRISPR.
Long before scientists at the Roslin Institute in Scotland cloned Dolly the sheep in 1996, American embryologist and aspiring cancer researcher Robert Briggs successfully developed the technique of nuclear transplantation using frogs in 1952. Although the history of cloning is often associated with contemporary ethical controversies, Forgotten Clones revisits the influential work of scientists like Briggs, Thomas King, and Marie DiBerardino, before the possibility of human cloning and its ethical implications first registered as a concern in public consciousness, and when many thought the very idea of cloning was experimentally impossible. By focusing instead on new laboratory techniques and practices and their place in Anglo-American science and society in the mid-twentieth century, Nathan Crowe demonstrates how embryos constructed in the lab were only later reconstructed as ethical problems in the 1960s and 1970s with the emergence of what was then referred to as the Biological Revolution. His book illuminates the importance of the early history of cloning for the biosciences and their institutional, disciplinary, and intellectual contexts, as well as providing new insights into the changing cultural perceptions of the biological sciences after Second World War.
clear and straightforward explanation of genetics in this new edition of the popular 101 series. Our genetic makeup determines so much about who we are, and what we pass on to our children—from eye color, to height, to health, and even our longevity. Genetics 101 breaks down the science of how genes are inherited and passed from parents to offspring, what DNA is and how it works, how your DNA affects your health, and how you can use your personal genomics to find out more about who you are and where you come from. Whether you're looking for a better scientific understanding of genetics, or looking into your own DNA, Genetics 101 is your go-to source to discover more about both yourself and your ancestry.
Ligaments and lymphatic fluid. The heart and the hormone regulatory system. The respiratory and reproductive systems. The human body comprises a myriad of fascinating, complex, and efficient systems, many of which operate constantly without our knowledge or awareness—that is, until we become ill or injured.This encyclopedia provides a concise yet comprehensive introduction to each of the systems of the human body, exploring all 11 organ systems of the human body: the circulatory, digestive, endocrine, integumentary, lymphatic, muscular, nervous, reproductive, respiratory, skeletal, and urinary systems. Each chapter includes detailed descriptions of important physiological processes, cell and tissue types, as well as the organs and their roles within the larger system. Special attention is also given to the ways in which these systems interact.
In the past, the brain was considered an autonomous organ, self-contained and completely separate from the body's immune system. But over the past twenty years, neuroimmunologist Michal Schwartz, together with her research team, not only has overturned this misconception but has brought to light revolutionary new understandings of brain health and repair. In this book Schwartz describes her research journey, her experiments, and the triumphs and setbacks that led to the discovery of connections between immune system and brain. Michal Schwartz, with Anat London, also explains the significance of the findings for future treatments of brain disorders and injuries, spinal cord injuries, glaucoma, depression, and other conditions such as brain aging and Alzheimer's and Parkinson's diseases.
Human intelligence isn't just located in the brain. Our bodies are marvelously sophisticated and complex, with a variety of autonomic systems that help maintain our health without us ever having to think about them. But how exactly do all these physiological structures actually work? In Our Intelligent Bodies, physiology professor Gary F. Merrill takes you on a guided tour through the human body. You'll learn how our eyes are designed to detect unimaginably small bursts of light and how our ears contain bundles of tiny hairs, each one attuned to different sound frequencies. You'll also discover how our hearts are smart enough to compensate for skipped beats and irregular rhythms and how our pulmonary system adjusts for low oxygen levels. You'll even find out why the gut is sometimes called the “second brain,” its reflexes controlled by millions of neurons.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students is a succinct but complete overview of the structure and function of the human body, with clinical applications throughout. Designed specifically for nursing and healthcare students, the new edition of this best-selling textbook provides a user-friendly, straightforward, jargon-free introduction to the subject.
People in developed countries are living longer and, just as the aged population around the world is steadily growing, the number of adults eighty-five and older in the United States is projected to quadruple to twenty-one million people by 2050. The aging of our population has huge implications for baby boomers and their children, and has generated a greater interest in the causes and effects of aging.Our Aging Bodies provides a clear, scientifically based explanation of what happens to all the major organ systems and bodily processes—such as the cardiovascular and digestive systems—as people age.
Now available in a second edition, Basics of Dental Technology is a complete reference for the current techniques and materials used in dental technology. Retains the accessible, task-based approach and step-by-step guidance of the first edition Features updates throughout, as well as a new chapter on digital dental technology and an interactive student website to support self-assessment Explains key competencies, concepts, instruments, and equipment, and also introduces more specialist techniques and procedures, such as denture prosthetics, fixed prosthodontics and orthodontic work Provides essential information for trainee dental technicians and students learning about dental technology, including study tips and strategies for working effectively within a dental team
Dental Public Health at a Glance presents a richly-illustrated introduction to dental and oral health issues in communities and populations. Each topic is presented in an easy-to-comprehend two-page spread with essential facts clearly summarized and accompanied by tables, illustrations and diagrams Comprehensive coverage of wide range of key concepts including: evidence-based dentistry, oral health promotion, the relationship of fluoride, diet, smoking, and alcohol to oral health, and considerations for a dental public health career Written by an expert in dental public health and offering illuminating insights into oral health at the population level.
Basic Guide to Dental Procedures, Second Edition provides an essential introduction to the core preventative and restorative treatments routinely carried out in the modern dental practice. Written as a guide for the whole dental team, ‘before and after'colour photographs enable the reader to understand and explain the procedures to their patient with confidence. Each section is clearly structured to cover the reasoning behind the treatment described, the relevant dental background, the basics of how each procedure is carried out and any necessary aftercare information. Key features include: Colour photographs throughout combined with concise text to highlight the crucial points of each procedure Suitable for the whole dental team, from office support staff to the dentist explaining procedures to a patient Thoroughly updated and revised in line with the substantial changes to the role and professional obligations of the dental nurse, including a new chapter detailing extended duties The new images of tray set-ups means it is an ideal companion for trainee dental nurses studying for the NEBDN OSCE exam
Provides basic consumer health information about dental hygiene, preventive care, and oral health concerns for children and adults, with facts about surgical, orthodontic, and cosmetic dental procedures, and diseases of the mouth and jaw. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Employing an evidence-based approach, this comprehensive textbook introduces the core clinical skills and competencies a newly-qualified nurse is required to have for professional practice. It is divided into five broad sections looking at: Care and compassion and communication, including personal care and pain assessment Essential skills, including observations, monitoring and emergency management Organisational aspects of care, including moving and handling, and wound care Safety and protection, including medicine management and infection control Nutrition and fluid balance, including hydration and nutrition.
This six volume set presents important research on nursing. Some of the topics discussed herein include: ·advanced practice nursing ·the nursing workforce ·nurse practitioners ·physician assistants ·certification and licensure ·psychiatric-mental health nursing ·rehabilitation ·nursing education and nursing students ·bioengineering nursing ·immunization for healthcare workers
Now in its second edition, this continues to be the only advanced practice nursing text to focus on core competencies in both epidemiology and population health. The new edition delivers essential content for Doctoral Nursing Programs (DNP) as outlined by the AACN, and encompasses the many changes in healthcare that affect population-based nursing, including the latest requirements set forth by the enactment of the ACA. All chapters include updated information, new content, and relevant case examples that exemplify successful strategies nurses have used to improve population outcomes. Featuring the contributions of several esteemed new authors, the second edition includes a timely new chapter on global health in population-based nursing and vital information about how new technology and social media can be used to improve population outcomes and to develop innovative solutions.The text describes the role of the APRN in identifying and mitigating healthcare disparities at the national and global level, and provides guidance on how to conduct community assessments. New topics include pay for performance implemented by the S, the overconsumption of salt and increasing use of electronic cigarettes, toxic stress, and more.
urvive placements and practice with this essential guide for all student nurses. Providing words of wisdom and advice from real-life student nurses, Communication Skills for Nurses is a handy, portable, and fun introduction to the key communication and interpersonal skills you'll need on placement and as a registered nurse.
Dignity is fundamental to every single person's life and history; and every interaction with another human being can potentially influence a person's sense of identity and self-esteem. In recent years, there has been a growing awareness of the importance of ‘dignity in care'. When healthcare organisations and individuals prioritise dignity, service users, carers and staff are treated with respect, compassion and understanding, and safe, good-quality healthcare services are delivered. In contrast, when dignity and respect are neglected or violated, people experience poor-quality care and may even suffer neglect and abuse. For all these reasons, it is clearly vital that all healthcare workers have a thorough understanding of dignity and how to place it at the centre of all their activities. In this helpful and thought-provoking book, the contributors offer an overview of current research on dignity-preserving care, highlighting practical and ethical considerations in various healthcare settings.
