LibGuides: Radiologic Technologist: Websites

Professional Associations

In addition to the Professional Associations listed below. many state or regional associations also exist.

American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists promotes high standards of patient care by recognizing qualified individuals in medical imaging, interventional procedures and radiation therapy.
American Society for Therapeutic Radiology & Oncology
ASTRO is a professional organization that promotes research and educational development in radiation oncology.
American Society of Radiologic Technologists
Providing resources that radiologic technologists need to improve patient care.
Association for Medical Imaging Management
Represents management in imaging departments and provides developmental programs for leadership in this field.
Association of Educators in Imaging and Radiologic Sciences
Exists to meet the needs of educators in the field of radiological science.
International Society of Radiographers & Radiological Technologists
An organization that supports the exchange of information and the advancement of technology in the field of radiologic science.

Gateway Resources

Consumer & Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS)
Web sites you can trust. A detailed directory of recommended Web sites.
MedEdPORTAL
"Users can access quality, peer-reviewed teaching material and assessment tools in both the basic and clinical sciences in medicine and in oral health.
With MedEdPORTAL, users can download or access the majority of the published resources directly from the website. Published authors retain their original copyrights and indicate on the MedEdPORTAL website how others may use the materials."
Medline Plus
From the large medical library and the creator of the MEDLINE database, this gives an alphabetical list of topics for more than 300 specific diseases, conditions, and other issues. Also goes to PubMed: Medline search.
more...less...
Each topic page has links to authoritative information on that subject, as well as linking to a MEDLINE search to retrieve journal article citations (with some links to the full-text articles).
Also see the EBSCOhost Medline database.
PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
more...less...
PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

General Information Resources

Radiologic Technologists and MRI Technicians
Career information including job outlook, salaries, educational requirements and typical duties

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Big government site dealing with current diseases, epidemics, etc.
CTisus
Contains a collection of over 200,000 CT Scans, MRIs, and X-Rays.
Diagnosaurus 2.0
A useful reference resource which gives connections between symptoms and diseases. From McGraw-Hill.
Eskeletons
An interactive website that allows you to examine different skeletal anatomy.
Healthopedia
"Your Health Encyclopedia."
Learn Radiology
Consists of videos, images, and other useful information for those starting out in radiology.
Mayo Clinic
This site offers easy-to-understand health and medical information. In addition to diseases and conditions, the site has a number of healthy living guides and helpful resources such as Health Tools, Treatment Decision Guides and Ask a Specialist.
Medical Assistant. Net
Guide to education, certification and careers.

Includes a discussion forum.
RadiologyEd
Good resources in radiology are listed here.
Radiology Technician Jobs in Utah on iHireRadiology.com
Find all Utah Radiology Technician Jobs at iHireRadiology.com. All Radiology Technician Jobs available.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Instruction and Liaison Librarian

Michael Toy

Contact:

Salt Lake Community College
Jordan Campus
3491 West Wights Fort Road JHS 235B
West Jordan, Utah 84088

801-957-6208

Subjects: Health Sciences

Libraries

Radiologic Technologist

Professional Associations

Gateway Resources

General Information Resources

Evaluating Websites

Instruction and Liaison Librarian