LibGuides: Nutrition: Library Databases

Welcome to the Nutrition subject guide!

This guide can help you find resources on nutrition topics. Use the tabs to explore recommended resources from the Library and the open web.

Databases

The Library's online databases provide many journal articles, e-books, and other sources on nutrition topics. Use the links below to get started finding resources from them.

Off Campus Access

Current students, faculty, and staff can access all electronic library resources off campus. When prompted, enter your MySLCC username and password.

Nutrition Databases

Examine+
Examine+ summarizes and analyzes research for nutritional balance, supplement usage, and disease prevention. Use this database to search health categories for conditions, related symptoms, causes, and recommendations. The supplement index breaks down research conducted on the benefits and side effects of various supplements. Create a free account using your SLCC or bruinmail email.

How to Access Examine+
Use this guide to learn how to access Examine+ through the SLCC Library
PubMed Central
PubMed Central was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information and is hosted by the the US National Library of Medicine. Find free, full-text scholarly articles published on biomedical and life sciences topics.

Science & Technology
Science & Technology collects 15 STEM databases for topics including biology, biotechnology, computer science, engineering, environmental science, physics, and more. Simultaneously search these databases for scholarly articles, newspapers, science magazines, and multimedia content.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Search Summon ("Search Library Materials" box) for a wide range of sources, including academic journals, magazines, books, and more.

ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central brings together most ProQuest databases to create an extensive multidisciplinary research database. It provides periodicals and scholarly journals for all major subjects including business, health and medical, language and literature, social sciences, education, science and technology, history, and philosophy.
Science (AAAS)
This peer-reviewed journal for the broad scientific community contains cutting-edge research, expert commentary, daily news, and scientific policy. SLCC's access is limited to the primary journal, Science.
Sage Journals Online
Sage Journals is a multidisciplinary collection of research articles and reports for subjects in social science, health science, life and biomedical science, and engineering.
JSTOR
JSTOR combines scholarly research and primary sources, including a robust image collection. Useful for humanities, social sciences, science and math, business, and the arts. JSTOR has a moving paywall that may limit access to the most recent research.

Want to access additional databases?

Pro Tip: You may need database coverage beyond what the Library has available. If so, with the UALC (Utah Academic Library Consortium) agreement, you can use other university or college libraries in the state. To do so, show your ID card and bring proof you are a current student at SLCC. Login with a guest pass and use their databases there. Check with each partner institution for their specific requirements.

Utah Academic Library Consortium (UALC) Partners

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy in-person or online to chat about your project, research, or questions.

Libraries

Nutrition

Subject Guide

Welcome to the Nutrition subject guide!

Databases

Off Campus Access

Nutrition Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Want to access additional databases?

Want to hone your research skills?

Libraries

Nutrition

Welcome to the Nutrition subject guide!

Databases

Off Campus Access

Nutrition Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Search Library Materials

Search here for SLCC library provided databases, articles, and ebooks.

Want to access additional databases?

Want to hone your research skills?