LibGuides: Medical Assistant: Websites

Gateway Resources

PubMed
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources
more...less...
PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
CAPHIS Consumer & Patient Health Information Section
Web sites you can trust. A detailed directory of recommended Web sites.
MedEdPORTAL
"Users can access quality, peer-reviewed teaching material and assessment tools in both the basic and clinical sciences in medicine and in oral health.
With MedEdPORTAL, users can download or access the majority of the published resources directly from the website. Published authors retain their original copyrights and indicate on the MedEdPORTAL website how others may use the materials."
MedlinePlus Health Information from the National Library of Medicine
From the large medical library and the creator of the MEDLINE database, this gives an alphabetical list of topics for more than 300 specific diseases, conditions, and other issues. Also goes to PubMed: Medline search.
more...less...
Each topic page has links to authoritative information on that subject, as well as linking to a MEDLINE search to retrieve journal article citations (with some links to the full-text articles).
Also see the EBSCOhost Medline database.

General Information Resources

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Big government site dealing with current diseases, epidemics, etc.
Diagnosaurus 2.0
A useful reference resource which gives connections between symptoms and diseases. From McGraw-Hill.
Mayo Clinic
This site offers easy-to-understand health and medical information. In addition to diseases and conditions, the site has a number of healthy living guides and helpful resources such as Health Tools, Treatment Decision Guides and Ask a Specialist.
Medical Assistant Jobs, Employment in Utah | Indeed.com
Medical Assistant Jobs available in Utah on Indeed.com. One search. all jobs.
Medical Assistant. Net
Guide to education, certification and careers, including a discussion forum.
Medical Assistants
Career information for Med. Assistants including job outlook and duties, required education, salary, etc.
MLA : Find and Evaluate Health Info. on the Web
Help with finding credible Internet information on health issues.

Professional Associations

American Association of Medical Assistants
Provides help in taking the CMA exam, includes self-study courses, and gives national conference information, etc.
American Academy of Physician Assistants
Association that provides news, job advice, and other helpful educational or job-related resources.
American Registry of Medical Assistants
Site to keep track of members.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Libraries

Medical Assistant

Reference and Liaison Librarian

Gateway Resources

General Information Resources

Professional Associations

Evaluating Websites