LibGuides: Marketing: Websites

General Information Resources

AdViews: A digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B).
Adweek
Contains articles on current business trends and branding in the marketing industry.
Bank for International Settlements
The BIS Annual Report found under the Publications & Research tab provides an overview of the global economy, emerging market economies, monetary policy in advanced industrial economies and financial markets.
Export.gov
Provides trade leads and market research information through the U.S. Commercial Service's Market Library Research Datatbase. Documents include Country Commercial Guides, industry overviews and market updates. Access is free, but requires registration.
GlobalEDGE
Whether conducting extensive market research, looking to improve your international knowledge, or simply browsing, you’re sure to find what you need to sharpen your competitive edge in today’s rapidly changing global
marketplace. It’s easy, it’s convenient, and best of all - it’s free!
Market Research Library
Free country economic and business information.
MSN Money
This resource contains SEC filings on companies as well as statements, financial highlights and key business ratios as compared to their respective industries.
NAICS Association
Free NAICS and SIC code lookup.
The Wall Street Journal Markets Data Center
Quickly find information about stocks, bonds, commodities, mutual funds, currencies, etc.
World Bank Data
Provides access to over 7,000 indicators from World Bank data sets and profiles for over 200 countries and economies.
World Bank – Doing Business
Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 175 economies. They indicate the regulatory costs of business and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity and growth.

Gateway Resources

Statistical Resources Useful for Marketing

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides an overview of the U.S. economy nationally, regionally and by industry with excellent charts.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics: Commodity Flow Survey
The Commodity Flow Survey (CFS) obtains data on shipments by domestic establishments in manufacturing, wholesale, mining, and selected other industries.
Business Data You Can Use, from the Census Bureau
Information taken from the US Census Bureau’s Economic Census. Includes national industry data, local state data and an industry statistics sampler.
County Business Patterns
Provides economic data by industry. Useful for studying the economic activity of small area, analyzing economic changes over time, analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas.
Economic Indicators
Available from April 1995 forward, this monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. It provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
Federal Reserve Survey of Consumer Finances
A triennial survey of consumer income, saving, net worth, financial assets, liabilities.
Financial Capability Study
In consultation with the U.S. Department of the Treasury and the President's Advisory Council on Financial Literacy, the FINRA Investor Education Foundation commissioned a national study of the financial capability of American adults. The overarching research objectives were to benchmark key indicators of financial capability and evaluate how these indicators vary with underlying demographic, behavioral, attitudinal and financial literacy characteristics.
Gallup Poll
Gives results on many topics including business and economy.
ILOSTAT
International labor statistics for over 200 countries provided by the International Labor Organization.
IMF (International Monetary Fund)
Has reports on countries arranged alphabetically, financial data on countries as well as full text access to its World Economic Outlook.
Industry Statistics Portal – Economic Census (U.S. Census Bureau)
This is a collection of statistical reports on selected industries.
Market Research Library
Contains more than 100,000 industry and country-specific market reports including Country Commercial Guides, Industry Overviews, Market Updates, Multilateral Development Bank Reports, Best Markets, and Industry/Regional Reports.
TradeStat Express
Provides latest annual and quarterly trade data on U.S. merchandise exports and imports as well as state and regional exports of merchandise. This site is administered by the International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Consumer Expenditure Surveys
An excellent source that provides data on consumers in the United States through tables, news releases, and reports.
U.S Census Bureau
Has extensive statistics on income, economic indicators, trade, and NAICS codes.
UNdata
An easy to use data access system was developed that meets UNSD’s vision of providing an integrated information resource with current, relevant and reliable statistics free of charge to the global community.
World Bank – Doing Business
Provides measures of business regulations and enforcement. Indicators are compared across 175 economies. They indicate the regulatory costs and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity, and growth.
World Bank – Global Economic Prospects (GEP)
Global Economic Prospects is an annual World Bank flagship report published November/December.

Local Marketing Resources

Salt Lake Chamber of Commerce
This site provides visitor and relocation information, business directory, activities and events for the city.
Business.utah.gov
Provides information on starting, running, relocating and closing a business in Utah.

Professional Marketing Association Resources

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Libraries

Marketing

Subject Guide

Search Google

Search Terms