LibGuides: Languages at SLCC: Navajo (Diné bizaad)

Navajo Language

Navajo (Dine' Bizaad) is an Athabascan Native American language in the S.W. of the U.S. It is only related to Apache.

Databases for Navajo Culture and Language

Although SLCC’s databases offer few articles geared toward undergraduate students of Navajo, they do provide information about a great variety of topics relating to Navajo culture, which is an important part of learning the language.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Has coverage of over 150 U.S. and international newspapers. Ninety days of FULL-TEXT articles to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal are included. Use this source to find articles in the Salt Lake Tribune. Formerly called ProQuest Newsstand (Complete).

Navajo Culture and Language Websites

Dual Language Navajo-English Dictionary (PDF)
An English-Navajo wordlist in a PDF file (requires Acrobat Reader). Rather outdated, but contains interesting information about kinship terms and Navajo clan system.
Navajo Lang. from Navajopeople.org Site
Good basics in site by Clayton Long, a language instructor for the San Juan School District and Harold Carey, a historian from Idaho.
Navajo Times
The newspaper of the Navajo People.

Libraries

Languages at SLCC

Navajo Language

Databases for Navajo Culture and Language

Navajo Culture and Language Websites

Navajo Videos or Widgets