LibGuides: Languages at SLCC: French

French Language Introduction

French has historical importance as a language of culture and is an integral part of English language development since 1066 and the Norman conquest of England.

Databases on French and France

SLCC’s databases offer few articles geared toward students of French, but they do provide a wide variety of information about French life and culture.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

SAGE Journals Online
FULL-TEXT access to over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Be sure to limit your search to Journals Available to Me.

French Language and French Websites

American Association for Teachers of French
Good place to get information on best practices, etc. for French language instruction.
France: a cultural primer
Interesting social and cultural introduction from a Georgetown prof.
French Reading Comprehension Exercises
Reading selections.
Language Guide: French
Basics with sound files. Good for children.
Linguee.Com -- a great English French dictionary
Language dictionary that shows meanings in context, like the various uses of "home". Use the drop down to get to English-French.
Tex’s French Grammar
Comprehensive explanation of French grammar, with many examples and useful gadgets – a verb conjugator, audio clips, quizzes you can check online, and much more – presented with a Texas twist. And armadillos.

Libraries

Languages at SLCC

French Language Introduction

Databases on French and France

French Language and French Websites