Where to start if you are looking for information on the Culinary Arts program offered at Salt Lake Community College.

Guide to foods, local foods, restaurants, and supper clubs in various cities.

Epicurious.com is a commercial website but it features plenty of useful, free content. Includes demo videos, podcast links, recipe search boxes, a culinary resources section, and more.

Online food magazine.

A publicly available searchable database and is designed to be a tool to aid in finding, identifying and comparing historical and contemporary writing on food and related topics.

Explore the database to find top chefs and establishments from around the world.

A list of helpful links provided by the USDA to associations and organizations that provide low-cost food and nutritional materials.

U.S. Food Safety site with up-to-date food safety topics and articles. Education on how to prevent food borne illnesses, etc.

Lists common food allergies and reactions, FAQs, research, recipes, and more.

Gateway website to government food safety information.

FSIS website allows questions and answers about food safety, hundreds of printable food safety fact sheets, meat and poultry hotline info, etc.

Bruce German is a prof. at UC-Davis.

An excellent resource with useful forums and blogs covering topics such as food preparation, product reviews, and catering.

Offers tips on cooking arranged by types of food, beginner cooking techniques, cooking definitions, and more.

Recipes from chefs from all over the world.

CNN's website all about eating and what's cooking. Discover information under these tabs: news, bite, sip, make, think, and buzz.

Perfect site for anyone with cookbooks. It indexes all recipes in over 96,000 cookbooks, as well as cooking magazines / blogs. A highly useful tool to use in searching in cookbooks for that elusive recipe that you know you have, somewhere. Free set-up for up to five cookbooks; paid subscription includes five or more from your personal library of cookbooks.

Harvard research site on nutrition. Check "antioxidants" for an interesting article.

Trendy diet examined.

Visual pot luck. Images of food dishes and comments on how they are made. Beautiful food photography.

Comprehensive website with links to individual herb pages and a section on cooking with herbs and more.

From the UCLA Biomedical Library, this site delves into culinary herbs, as well as medicinal properties of spices and herbs.

Online version of Cook’s Illustrated magazine. Useful Quick Tips and Ask Cook’s sections. Come into the Markosian Library to access the subscription portion of this database.

Edible Wasatch is a locally and independently owned member of Edible Communities Inc. whose mission is to inspire readers to explore our regional food system and support local producers, restaurants and related businesses by voting with their forks.

Fine Cooking magazine’s online version provides an editor’s blog, “The Kitchen Sink,” a Tips & Techniques section, a Tools & Ingredients section, equipment reviews and more.

Online website for Saveur magazine, focusing on global cuisine. Sections for technique, recipes, travel, wine & drink, travel, and discussion forums.

Governing and certifying body of Sommeliers for the United States.

Guide for cocktails, etc. Very comprehensive.

Digital exhibition on History of Wine from Cornell Univ.

The online version of Wine Enthusiast magazine, with vintage charts, wine and spirits ratings, and archived articles.

Provides reviews to over 15,000 wines a year.

Trade publication for the Restaurant and food services industry.

Publication for the food service industry.

Publication of the Club Management Association of America.

Published by the European Hotel Manager's Association, this quarterly publication serves the needs of the world’s hotel industry and related services, bringing together current knowledge and informed opinion on key issues.

About.com's list of more than a dozen software tools, some with freeware and shareware. Various features of the software include: shopping and meal planners, nutritional analyzer, rescaling recipes and other tools.

About.com's recipe substitution websites that cover areas such as cooking with sugar substitutes, adapting and altering recipes, general ingredient substitutions, and other types of culinary substitutions. Over a dozen sites are listed.

The online hospitality elearning ecosystem, supporting every team member.

Use this handy calculator to convert international measures used in recipes. Simply enter the required value into the input field at the top and then press the appropriate button to perform the calculation.

National association representing all segments of the 1.8 million-employee U.S. lodging industry, including hotel owners, REITs, chains, franchisees, management companies, independent properties, state hotel associations, and industry suppliers.

Non-profit, educational, consumer-oriented organization for those interested in learning more about all aspects of wine. Now in its 47th year, the American Wine Society is the largest consumer based wine education organization in North America. Membership is open to anyone interested in wine and over 21 years of age. The Publications, News, and Media page links to prominent newsletters and journals in the industry.

The largest hotel owners association in the United States with nearly 20,000 members that collectively own over half of the hotels in the United States.

The Leading Trade Association for Independent Lodging Professionals

Organization dedicated to the luxury independent boutique lodging and lifestyle industries. BLLA’s membership benefits allow access to the world’s leading minds in the space through events, research and education. Our mission is to provide leadership and opportunities for global recognition and connections to the world’s best hotels, vendors and manufacturers.

An organization of brewers, for brewers and by brewers. More than 1,900 US brewery members and 38,000 members of the American Homebrewers Association are joined by members of the allied trade, beer wholesalers, individuals, and the Brewers Association staff. Contains National and International directory of breweries with contact information. Limited information is freely available for nonmembers.

The largest professional association for club management professionals with more than 8,100 members throughout the US and internationally. Our members contribute to the success of more than 2,600 country, golf, athletic, city, faculty, military, town, and yacht clubs.

Food Marketing Institute proudly advocates on behalf of the food retail industry. FMI’s U.S. members operate nearly 40,000 retail food stores. Through programs in public affairs, food safety, research, education and industry relations, FMI offers resources and provides valuable benefits. Includes online Newsroom with relevant press releases, industry sub-topic profiles, Food Retail Buyer's Guide, and more.

HSMAI is a global organization of sales, marketing, and revenue management professionals representing all segments of the hospitality industry. Select the Knowledge Center category for some freely available market research and news articles.

Provides access to a directory of hospitality-related industry associations, both in the US and Internationally. These associations include: Green Hotels Association (GHA), Hospitality Financial & Technology Professionals (HFTP), Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI), International Society of Hospitality Purchasers (ISHP), Network of Executive Women in Hospitality (NEWH), and Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM).

HOSPA is the association helping Hospitality's specialist leaders to develop their careers and network, as well as keep up to date with industry trends and developments.

IACP is a worldwide forum for the development and exchange of information, knowledge, and inspiration within the professional food and beverage community. Now with nearly 3,000 members from more than 32 countries, IACP's greatest resource is its multi-faceted membership, which includes chefs, restaurateurs, foodservice operators, writers, photographers, stylists, marketers, nutritionists, and academia, hailing from hospitality, tourism, publishing, and many other disciplines. Many of the resources under "Connect," such as newsletters, are freely available.

The National Restaurant Association is a trade association that represents over 380,000 restaurant locations in the United states, and they publish reports and statistics as well as host events to promote the success of restaurants in the U.S.

The national association to promote travel. provides widely-respected, industry-leading economic data, information, analysis and travel trends to support industry efforts involving advocacy and promotion.

Women Leading Travel & Hospitality is an unparalleled community for executive women working across travel and hospitality companies, offering unique networking experiences and an opportunity for professional growth.