LibGuides: Geology: Media and Interactive Tools

Use this page to find different media resources. It includes streaming videos and image repositories. Also find interactive online content designed for mapping and for learning more about geology.

Interactive Simulations

Geologic Map Portal
This map viewer from the Utah Geological Society allows the user to interact with geologic maps overlaid on Google Maps. Click the maps to find descriptions of rock types and formations across the state.
Macrostrat Lab
From the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this is a platform for the distribution of geological data. Search for specific locations or browse map collection. Useful for Utah-specific geology information. All data are provided under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license (CC-BY-4.0).
Rockd (free app)
Freely download the Macrostrat Lab's Rockd for Android or iOS. Access geologic maps and learn about the type of rock formations you are standing on. Useful for the GEO 1010 field trip assignment. Create an account to record and save your observations or use the app as a guest. Requires the device's GPS to be turned on.
Ancient Earth Simulation
Use this interactive globe to search for a specific place, fossil, earth history era, and more.
PhET Simulations: Earth Sciences
Free, interactive, research-based science simulations from the University of Colorado. Includes simulations on pressure, waves, gravity, glaciers, and more.
Virtual Microscope for Earth Science
"The virtual microscope allows users to examine and explore minerals and microscopic features of rocks, helping them to develop classification and identification skills."

Please note that these interactive resources may not be fully accessible.

Online Geology Videos

Films On Demand Collection This link opens in a new window
A large collection of streaming video with academic, vocational and life-skills content on a wide variety of subjects
AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window
AVON contains thousands of award-winning films covering a wide range of subjects, including multiple aspects of geology.

Try searching the Library's Films of Demand or AVON video databases for "Geology." Watch videos or film clips on the geology of specific regions or land types, geological methods, history of geology, and so forth.

Videos on both Films on Demand and AVON have English captions and transcripts available.

U.S. Geological Survey Multimedia Gallery
Watch scientific animations, presentations, video shorts, training, and more related to USGS science and research. Videos should have closed captions and transcripts included.
UCSD-TV Geophysics and Earth Sciences
The University of California San Diego Television's page for geosciences videos, series, and podcasts. Videos should have closed captions and transcripts included.

Geology-Related Government Image Collections

Image Gallery: Earth Resources Observation and Science Center
Find remarkable images from the USGS. The "Earth as Art" collections are notable. Images should include alt text and descriptions.
USGS Denver Library Photographic Collection
Find over "500,000 still photographs, slides, glass plate slides, lantern slides, negatives, and sketches dating from the 1870s and taken by USGS scientists as part of their field studies." Images should include alt text.

Want to hone your research skills?

Contact the Science, Mathematics and Engineering liaison librarian: Amy.Scheelke@slcc.edu.

Schedule a 30-minute library consultation
Meet with Amy to chat about your project, research, or questions.

Libraries

Geology

Interactive Simulations

Online Geology Videos

Geology-Related Government Image Collections

Want to hone your research skills?