LibGuides: Religion: Databases

Article Databases

Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
FULL-TEXT Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Over 300 full-text journals, including 250 peer-reviewed titles.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(1800's to recent past) FULL-TEXT online access to older issues of selected scholarly journals. Areas of interest include Architecture & Architectural History, Art & Art History, Film Studies, Music, Performing Arts history, and more.

Newspaper Articles

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Has coverage of over 150 U.S. and international newspapers. Ninety days of FULL-TEXT articles to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal are included. Use this source to find articles in the Salt Lake Tribune. Formerly called ProQuest Newsstand (Complete).

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service)

Contact a Librarian

Searches most databases.

Libraries

Religion

Article Databases

Newspaper Articles

Evaluating Websites

OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service)