LibGuides: History: U.S., Western, & Utah: U.S. Hist. Websites

Gateway Web Resources for U.S. History

Avalon Project : 18th Century
Access to primary source documents in law, diplomacy, and history during the 1700s from Yale Law School.
Best of History Websites
Best of History Web Sites, created by EdTechTeacher Inc, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to numerous history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history resources.
Civil War in the American South - portal to digital holdings
A portal to access digital collections from the Civil War time (1850-1865) held by members of Assoc. of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL).
New York Times Digital Archives
Past N.Y. Times articles since about 1850. If not a subscriber there is a charge.
U.S. History.Org
Good collection of entries on American History.

Gen. Resources in American History

Library of Congress Digital Collections: American History
Rich collection of documents, photographs, recordings, and more devoted to American history and culture. Includes Today in History link.
Civil Rights Digital Library (Georgia)
CRDL provides resources, including Freedom on Film, with instructive stories and discussion questions from the Civil Rights Movement in Georgia, and the New Georgia Encyclopedia, with access to online articles & multimedia.
History Makers - biographies
Short bios. on African Americans in the U.S. who made a difference are here.
National Archives Online Exhibits
View documents / objects and hear audio from pivotal events in American history.
National Constitution Center
Great resource for learning more about the U.S. Constitution. Scholarly articles, etc.

Narrower Resources in American History

American Rhetoric Top 100 Speeches
Best speeches in American history.
Immigration History Research Center
Organization that promotes interdisciplinary research on US immigration history.
Mapping History
University of Oregon site that provides maps on historical periods.
The Papers of Abraham Lincoln
Collected by the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency.
Reasons the Chicago 8 Trial Mattered: History.Com
After the riots and police violence at the Democratic National Convention in '68, the trial of some protesters put the counterculture in the spotlight.
Woman Suffrage & 19th Amendment from National Archives
Primary documents provided by the National Archives about Woman Suffrage and the 19th Amendment.

Online Publications

American Heritage
Magazine devoted to great men and scoundrels, popular music and high art, and much more Americana. Searchable archive of back issues from 1954.
American Historical Review
This quarterly is the official publication of the American Historical Association published February, April, June, October, and December of each year.

Professional Associations

American Historical Association
Umbrella organization for professional historians in the United States.
Organization of American Historians
Dedicated to the teaching and study of American history, since 1907.

Evaluating Websites

When using the Web for research, it is important to evaluate what you find, because no one curates or rates it. There are different methods of deciding if a source is credible, but an easy-to-remember evaluation acronym to use is CRAAP:

CURRENCY
timeliness of the information

RELEVANCE
importance of the information for your needs

AUTHORITY
source of the information

ACCURACY
reliability and correctness of the content

PURPOSE
the reason for it or why the information exists

Libraries

History: U.S., Western, & Utah

Librarian

Text-A-Librarian