Topic Selection and Library Databases
I helped Hana, a COMM student to think of a topic to pick. My advice to her was, 1) look for inspiration in the world around her, 2) focus her research question on a topic that matches what her class requires, and 3) search for sources in one of the library's best databases.
She ended up focusing on Artificial Intelligence and its impact on memory or thinking, because she heard a podcast about how people who use a lot of AI can't remember much of what they write. This podcast gave her the insight to find other sources and complete her project.
Here are some more tips about picking topics:
- A good place for getting topic ideas is to browse social issues in a Library database that covers those, like SIRS Researcher, as well as Gale's In Context Opposing Viewpoints. Or look in other media and news sources about what people are talking about. Asking friends, family, or classmates might be a good source of ideas too.
- Select a topic that you care about. This will keep you more interested and involved. Look at other sides of the issue. Keep an open mind.
- Consider the scope of your topic. If it's too broad there will be too much information, which is hard to cover, and if it's too narrow, there will be too little or no information. Here's an example: homelessness in the U.S. is likely too broad for a manageable speech or paper, but college student homelessness in Utah probably is. You may need to modify your topic as you go, or even switch topics.
Library Databases
Our Library databases contain FREE and reliable information (with no ads), they may not be quite as easy to use as Google, but are worth it, for their solid reliable resources which have already been paid for. My favorite large database is Summon, it saves time because it:
- Contains accurate sources
- Limits your sources by different ways, such as by publication date or source type
- Has source citations
- Has abstracts (summaries)
- Allows you to download or access the sources
Getting Help from a Librarian
Try Summon, (see the search box below), and try the Library's chat service for any help needed, or make an appointment with a librarian for good advice.
The next section is for more about Scholarly Articles. Use the bottom right link (NEXT).
