Skip to Main Content

ENGL2010 Class Plan

Library instruction for ENGL 2010
female student in book stacks
INSTRUCTIONS
  • Divide into 3 or 4 Groups and choose a Note-Taker and a Reporting person.
  • Each group examines an online information source of a different type on various topics using a worksheet. 
  • Use each group's worksheet to note evidence for the reliability of a source.  Don't read the whole item. Scan it.
  • Then each group reports and we will discuss what you noticed, and what you think about using these sources.

   Understanding the value of different source types that we get from databases, helps us use them better.

SOURCE 1:  

Ebanks, Gordon. "America Is in a Literacy Crisis. Is AI the Solution or Part of the Problem?" CNN Wire Service, 22 Sept. 2025. ProQuest; SIRS Issues Researcher, https://libprox1.slcc.edu/login?url=https://explore.proquest.com/sirsissuesresearcher/document/3253446728?accountid=28671

DESCRIPTION: About effects of frequent use of A.I. on the literacy or ability to read in America.

Library Database used: SIRS ISSUES RESEARCHER (best for background information on current issues topics). 

 

SOURCE 2:  

Trolian,Teniell L., et al. “Predictors of Academic Motivation in the First Year of College.” Learning & Motivation, vol. 84, Nov. 2023, p. N.PAG. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.lmot.2023.101939.

DESCRIPTION:  Lengthy academic or scholarly article on why students stay in college the first year or why they do not drop out.   

Library Database used: Education Full Text database           

 

SOURCE 3:

Wick, Jeannette Y. "Concerns Linger about GLP-1 Inhibitors Despite their Popularity." Pharmacy Times, 2024. ProQuest, Free version on the Web: https://www.pharmacytimes.com/view/concerns-linger-about-glp-1-inhibitors-despite-their-popularity 

DESCRIPTION:  Article about new weight loss drugs.

Library Database used: ProQuest Central database (first-stop for most research topics it contains articles, ebooks, and videos).

 

SOURCE 4:  

Zipper, David. “Why It’s So Frickin’ Hard to Stop Driving.” Slate, 3 Dec. 2024, https://slate.com/technology/2024/12/car-commute-public-transit-behavioral-science.html  

DESCRIPTION:  Article from an online page about getting people to use alternative transportation to reduce carbon and improve health.

 

NOTE:  SUMMON was added in FALL 2025 as a comprehensive One-Stop search tool.  It's on the main Library page.