LibGuides: International Studies: Spanish Colonial America

Spanish Colonial America Websites

The World Digital Library (Library of Congress)
Read about and explore the World Digital Library Collection through the Library of Congress. Contains items from multiple languages and geographic locations.
Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
Primary source material from early Spanish America provided by the National Library of Spain.
Parallel Histories: Spain, the United States, and the American Frontier
Books, manuscripts, and maps from the Library of Congress with help from the Nation Library of Spain and the Biblioteca Colombina y Capitular of Seville. All documents can be found in either Spanish and English.
Early Americas Digital Archive
Search by author or title to find interesting works from prominent Spanish and English individuals in the Americas.
Vistas - Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820
Theme based site that examines Spanish America through visual representation.

Biblioteca Virtual Miguel De Cervantes
An expansive collection of Latin American literature. Works include manuscripts, images, thematic projects.
Southern Methodist University – Collection on Mexico
Presented by the DeGolyer library, this collection provides primary sources documents revolving around the Mexican-American border territories from the early 19th to the mid-20th century.
Morales de Escarcega Collection
Approximately 2,800 digitized books that reveal the daily life and practices of the people in colonial Mexico.
Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials
Links to primary source material covering Latin America and the Caribbean.
Bexar Archives
Approximately 5,000 documents surrounding the Spanish colonial province of Texas. Topics include military and diplomatic correspondences as well as social life in the province.
John Carter Brown Library – Internet Archive
Primary source material covering the Americas from the 15th to the 18th century.