LibGuides: International Studies: Latin American Studies

Newspaper Databases

ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Contains recent and archival news content from the 1980s to present. Resources from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Australia are included.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
A FULL-TEXT collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Academic Databases

ONE SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Search most of the Library's databases at the same time. It includes over 20 databases from various vendors and brings up many e-books as well.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Ultimate provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.

Film Databases

AVON (Academic Video Online) This link opens in a new window
AVON contains thousands of award winning films covering a wide range of subjects including: anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films On Demand Collection This link opens in a new window
A large collection of streaming video with academic, vocational and life-skills content. Topics include: Anthropology, Art & Architecture, Biology, Careers, Communication, Computers, Earth Science, Education, Environmental Science, Family Sciences, Geography, Guidance & Counseling, Health, History, Language Arts, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Technical Education, and World Languages. Be patient, the videos can take a few minutes to load

Websites

Spanish Colonial America Sources
A list of website that provide primary sources on Colonial Latin America.

Where to Find Archival Photos

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Discover 40,130,032 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States. Included are primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
American history, 1400-present, documented by the Library of Congress. Millions of items including images, prints, photographs, etc. While international in scope, the collections are particularly strong in materials documenting the history of the United States and the lives, interests, and achievements of the American people.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Europeana Collections
Discover inspiring cultural heritage from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives. Some of these images are restricted in their usage. So be sure to use the “Can I Use This?” drop down menu when searching.
The Met Collection
Browse some of The Met's most recognizable and eye-catching objects covering 5,000 years of history. Or search across more than 375,000 hi-res images of public-domain works from the collection.
Umbra Search
This site features African American History primary resources by bringing together hundreds of thousands of digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
Flickr Commons
Collection of images for use. Can be filtered to "no known restrictions."
19th Century Photography Collections
This is a list of digital photography collections focused on 19th Century photography in the United States, compiled by the National Archives.
Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in Americas: A Visual Record
These images have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection currently has over 1,200 images. The website is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.

Scholarly, Popular, Trade/Professional? What's in a name?

Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade/professional publications.

	Scholarly Journals	Popular Journals	Trade/Professional Publications
Purpose	Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.	Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.	Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
Authors	Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.	Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.	Articles are usually written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
Audience	Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.	Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.	Intended for practitioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.

Country Profile Research Tips

Assigned Country Process:

Find country assigned to you by your professor (Canvas)
Learn about your country! Encyclopedia articles are great for this step. Look for the following information:
1. Geography
2. Demographics
3. Society
4. Economy
5. Politics
Explore a contemporary issue related to the unit theme in the context of that particular country's history and profile. Newspapers and magazines are great sources for current issues.
Prepare your 3-5 page report and 10-15 minute presentation. (More info in Canvas).

Libraries

International Studies

Instruction and Liaison Librarian